We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gables Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a nice find!!! The Gables and the staff are what inns are supposed to be about. Michael and his associates were tops and our only disappointment was that we were only able to stay one evening. The location is excellent and some of the rooms have great bay views. We've already suggested the inn to family and friends who want to visit the area!

Room Tip: The Alder has a great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall4867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, cheese and wine happy hour, great continental breakfast. Our second time here, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Gables Inn for two nights over July 4th in the Bay Room; we had a wonderful stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LR713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice little Inn with a good location to the main tourist area in Sausalito. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice wine and cheese happy hour with a very good continental breakfast. Clean room, but no much of a view. No A/C, but you really don't need it in this area. On site parking was also available for a nominal charge. No reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We just stayed at the Gables Inn a week ago... for 5 nights with our 12 year old son. We chose Sausalito as a lower key alternative to the bustle of downtown San Francisco for our first trip there as a family...and it delivered! We loved the town of Sausalito with all it's shop-lined streets, convenience to ferries, beautiful views and yummy restaurants. We do a good bit of research before our trips so were not surprised by the Gables Inn...but we loved it! It exceeded our expectations in so many ways: very friendly staff, delicious breakfasts each day, helpful when we had questions, extremely comfy beds, cozy location perched on the hill @ Princess Street overlooking quaint downtown... but relatively quiet. Our windows opened to the cool SF air....in the 60s in late June! Nice alternative to the 113 degrees we missed in GA that week! We loved the Gables for it's cozy charm and personal touch...but have to mention a few small things: our first two nights we stayed in a more expensive ($400/nt) room due to availability issues...and that room had broken window cranks (which you will want to open to let in the nice, cool air) as well as missing handles on the bathroom sink. When we inquired about this we were told that was just the way it was. Our last 3 nights were spent in an identical room a floor below (without the limited view of SF from the window)...and the window cranks worked fine and the bathroom faucets were intact...for nearly an $80 per night savings. All in all...we had a great experience though and the problems were small things considering. I would highly recommend the Gables and especially Sausalito. The ferry to SF is a literal 5 minute walk away...and we had a yummy dinner at Angelino's and at Napa Valley Burger Co....both of which were suggested by Gables staff. Lovely place...miss it already!!

Room Tip: Don't bother choosing the pricier upper level rooms....they are identical to the cheaper ones a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riceworks515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We found the Gables Inn online, and it certainly lives up to everything on the website. Great location, and wonderful staff. The included breakfast and evening wine and cheese complete the experience. We had the Cedar room, which was nice and big, and well appointed, but a bit dark as it is at ground level, and the vegetation is a bit overgrown. This provides lots of privacy, but we are big natural lights fans.
We would absolutely come back, but probably choose a room on a higher level.
We thank the staff for a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twospotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went to Sausalito to celebrate my wife's birthday with a romantic evening and a day of sailing. We stumbled across the Gables totally by accident and we both LOVED it! All the staff (especially Sissy) were great, service was excellent, location - PERFECT! We really loved the place and will definetly be staying there again. It was so nice, it actually made Sausalito a more desireable 'getaway destination' for us!

Room Tip: If you care about a special view, look on their website. Be aware, not all the rooms are listed. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range: $191 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing