We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sausalito Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gables Inn Sausalito
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Just returned from a short stay at The Gables. This small inn is located virtually in the heart of where you would want to be while visiting Sausalito or, for that matter, if you are spending a few days in the San Francisco area.

Michael at the front desk is right out of central casting for the perfect desk/concierge person. Patient, lots of goods ideas, and apparently responsible for the pleasant lobby atmosphere which includes pleasant background music which he selects for the right mood and time of day.

Same goes for the wine / cheese hour which is so meticulously presented that the guests really want to socialize.

Our room was wonderful. Spacious and well appointed with a modern gas fireplace, wall-mounted flat screen tv, and charming bed-and-breakfast type furnishings.

Parking is very convienient - right outside the front door in a pleasant courtyard setting.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for The Gables Inn Sausalito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

Best choice of accommodation we have done in a long time. Friendly staff, room 304 was almost a flat I could live in. Definitely coming back next year.
Love the location, view from our balcony, a free glass of wine and bits of cheese when you check-in, beautiful healthy breakfast. All in total very very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrineBuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Large spacious rooms beautifully appointed, friendly atmosphere with gracious host Michael, and convenience to local attractions make this Inn a wonderful spot on a CA coast vacation. We traveled with our extended family of five fifty+ yr olds and two twenty years olds and it was LOVED by all. The continental breakfast was just right for morning and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was outtanding. Michael's cheese selection lived up to the rave reviews of other guests. It was a delightful 5 minute walk to the waterfront, ferries, shops and restaurants. It was also close to the Marin Headlands which was an unexpected highlight with the Marine Mammal Center (rescue hospital) and beautifl scenery of the Golden Gate Bridge. Thank you Michael for the recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLBPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Gables Inn inSausalito was llike striking gold. We are from Naples, Florida and we were stopping at hotels along Ridgeway Street looking for accomodations. Many of them were old with a million steps and a lingering moldy odor, We took a right turn on Princess Street in search of our hotel and saw the sign for The Gables Inn,We were greeted by the most gracious Halie, who was a wealth of information about the hotel and the area. The spotless rooms were spacious and many had fireplaces.Breakfast and evening wine and cheese gave us an opportunity to meet fellow travellers. Our one night stay ended up becoming three nights. Give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naldiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We just left yesterday and I already miss the Gables Inn. When we arrived I couldn't believe the location; we were 1/2 block from the water, shopping and restaurants. At first sight parking looked to be challenging as the small lot was full, but we were quickly directed to a garage (not a parking garage, but a real garage) right behind the Inn which proved to be very convenient to the side entrance we used throughout our stay.
The room...WOW! We stayed in The Sequoya Room. Nice, comfortable king bed with beautiful view of San Francisco. Living area with full size couch and porch with French doors. Nice bar area with small fridge. And, last but not least, the bathroom which I found to be one of the nicest I have seen. It had marble floors, large tub with jets and rain shower head.
The whole room was very clean! I loved the little touches like a box of Kleenex in evey room. Doesn't seem like a big deal, but just shows the thought that went into the room.
I will also say that I found it very easy to get over to the city by car. The ferry schedule didn't meet our needs this time of year, but I manage to drive over and mde it just fine.
Needless to say, this was a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Reservations were made thru Booking.com with no problems. We stayed there for just one night in three rooms. Very, very pleasant: Nice rooms, excellent location and very friendly staff. Possibility of having a charming breakfast in private terrace overlooking the Bay. Even free wi-fi . Cozy & Classy. You wound't regret my advise.
Jorge from Argentina. Stayed 2/18/11. with family.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The Gables Inn is a small, well run and very well located hotel in Sausalito. Its rooms are tastefully and uniquely furnished. The Gables is situated some 50 yards off the main street and is only a 5 minute walk from the ferry boat which takes you to the heart of San Francisco in less than 35 minutes. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and if you require it they will assist you when you are planning your day. The room rates include a buffet breakfast and also, at 5.30pm each day, cocktails and savouries. This provides a relaxing event at which you can swap tourist stories over a glass of wine. The Gables provides a great base for exploring San Francisco, the wine country (Napa) or the National Park in Marin County.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltoniaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Address: 62 Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965-2219
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range: $248 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing