We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a beautiful view, clean room and the staff were wonderful.”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The view from the balcony was just beautiful & the fireplace is very comforting. Our room was cozy & clean from top to bottom. Very nice selection for breakfast & I enjoyed the complimentary wine & cheese. I can not say enough about the accomodating staff. The town is within walking distance with very nice restaurants and shops. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattycakePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 787 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

We booked a bay view room and although pretty pricey we decided for one night we would treat ourselves. Worth every penny. We sat on on our extra large balcony watching the pelicans and seals and enjoying the view whilst knocking back a bottle of wine. Relaxing end to our stay in California and the winelands. Bathroom a little outdated,, but okay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalestech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

On arrival we had a bottle of champagne waiting for us; the next 2 days were very enjoyable as well. Location is breathtaking and for the rest it is the convenience that is the keyword. Valet parking, breakfast delivered to your room (be sure to get a room with deck), afternoon wine (again on your deck), etc. And of course not to forget the ferry next door that brings you to the city without any parking issues. Be sure to try at least once a burger from across the street. Only problem we found was on the light switches -some kind of Rubik's puzzle to switch them all off :-)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My boyfriend took me to this Inn for my birthday. I loved the Inn. The view is spectacular and so is the service. The rooms are a little on the small side, but its not exactly a family hotel - so just cozy enough for two. We had a superior king, room 311. Even though the tub is not a jacuzzi tub, it is still defintely big enough for two. Probably one of the best tubs I've ever had. The gardenias in the bathroom - nice touch! I would say this was an excellent stay I only have one "but".. and that is - our balcony. Unfortunately our balcony hadn't been cleaned in weeks (or so it appeared). Cob-webs.. EVERYWHERE. There is a skylight on the balcony and it was full of critters. The interior of the room was very clean so I'm a bit suprised that the balconies are neglected. Further a comment about the environment (not the hotel) is that guests don't seem to realize that sound carries when you are on the water. So to our disappointment we couldn't sleep with the slider open because of early risers. ( I guess if you ARE an early riser thats no problem). The hotel could benefit from a lounge area to enjoy the view - the balcony just has straight sitting chairs - I would have loved a chaise to relax on the balcony in. Not a deal breaker- just a recommendation. My boyfriend ordered a dozen roses for me to be in the room and they were by far, the most beauitful flowers ever. the hotel did an excellent job. The hotel has a continental breakfast which they will deliver to your room for $3 per person - I found this to be an especially nice touch. Its room service without the $40 price tag. We ate at Spinnaker and Poggi - both fabulous restaurants. All and all .. a great, great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA_DINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We came here for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better start! The balcony in the room was amazing with binoculars to watch the sea lions, herons and other birds on the bay at sunrise and sunset. Staff were professional yet friendly and the cheese and wine at supper was a lovely touch. All only a short ferry ride from SF!

We will definitely be coming back to this hotel next time we are in the states...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AT8564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just returned from our stay. Our room was perfect and overlooked the bay. An extremely clean hotel with many amenities. What sets this hotel above the rest is simply the service. Every single staff member makes it their personal responsiblity to provide anything you need. From dinner reservations, car rentals, trip arrangements, airline reservations, whatever you can think of. A complimentary breakfast is served daily as well as complimentary wine and cheese every afternoon. All the hotel guest seemed to enjoy this as this was an opportunity to meet fellow guests.
Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbodzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We paid the premium to stay here for the private deck with a view across the bay to San Francisco from Sausalito. . . and the view was truly amazing. A very relaxing spot located steps from shopping and restaurants in downtown Sausalito. The staff was courteous and helpful. They had a complimentary wine and cheese tasting. We're not wine experts, but it was nice just to sit down and enjoy a glass of wine. The complimentary continental breakfast was one of the best we've had - a huge and very tasty selection.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHTraveler03278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#28 of 230 in San Francisco
3,378 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,178 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $255 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing