We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn Above Tide
Nearby Hotels
$456
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
$416
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$285
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HI Marin Headlands Hostel(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
$233
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveler rating
681
100
16
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
100
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesequichesan franciscosea lionspastriesa king deluxe roomwood burning fireplacevista suitedrawing roomangel islandbay bridgeworth every pennyprivate deckcontinental breakfastbreakfast deliveredcorner roomgranola
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 808 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I planned a relaxing weekend to get away from all the hustle bustle of work and life and found this little gem.
Among arrival: Greeted quickly and friendly by Dan who helped with all of our stuff. This place is funny because it operates minimally at least at the front desk. They often have one person who does Valet, Bell Hop, Movie Rentals etc.
The entrance was very cute yet amazing with their cast iron fence and brick laid entrance.

The View!!!! The view from the deck is amazing. With the beds facing the ocean it is an amazing experience because you're literally right above the water.

Had amazing Bulgari brand amenities.

Can not say enough good things about this place. It's a little pricey but well worth it for a romantic get away. The streets of Sausalito are empty at night allowing a nice romantic walk after leaving one of the bar/restaurants (We went to Barrel House Tavern amazing bartenders and bar)

Room Tip: All rooms face the water I believe?
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Since so much has been written about this place, I will just pick out a few of the small things I especially liked about this hotel: (1) the wine and cheese hour was surprisingly good; (2) the selection of DVDs was truly impressive; and (3) the slippers are the best luxury hotel slippers I've ever put on. One thing to be aware of is that you will have to compromise on privacy; there is a very busy ferry dock on one side with passengers constantly embarking and disembarking, and restaurants on the other side. You also have to get used to the sound of the foghorns on the big tankers moving up and down the bay, although that could have been because we slept with our balcony door open. However, the hotel is extremely conveniently located and it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place is fabulous.
While visiting my uncle who lives a stones throw from here and has worked in the bay for years, after some careful deliberation, said "you know, this is probably the only hotel that is exactly on the water. I can't think of any others in San Francisco or in the area that are this close".

And it wouldn't surprise me. While we had a room with a stunning view of the bay and the lights of SF city, some other rooms offer an actual deck with comfortable seating to sit out practically on the water.

It's proximity to the ferry terminal make it ideal if you like the idea of checking out San Francisco but prefer a smaller-town atmosphere in which to settle in for the evening.

They offer a happy hour wine and light hors d'ouvres time which is very nice as well as a nice continental breakfast.

This is usually out of my budget range. However, I was able to enjoy because I was travelling with my mom who treated.

The staff is very polite and professional.

I hope to return sometime.

Room Tip: Suggest: Request a room with qualities that are important to you. Rooms are not huge, but the view is well worth it [especially if you live inland!] Some rooms have a fireplace, while others do not but they boast a patio.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were in San Francisco for the Outside Lands festival and decided that however inconvenient we had to have a night here. The last time we stayed, some five years ago it was fantastic and so we came back and if anything it was even better. The only downside was that we only stayed one night. A beautiful inn with views to die for. Just sit on your balcony and watch the world go by, pure bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleetoffoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

GROUP SIZE:
2 people.

TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge. This was a splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
1 night overnight stay for a birthday weekend.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Welcome/Check-In:
We arrived in the later in the afternoon after enjoying a nice urban hike around downtown Sausalito. Check in was simple and attendants were cordial.

Room:
Awesome location right off of Sausalitos main drag. Amazing view of San Francisco skyline and both bridges. Wished that all rooms had balconies for the price that we paid but nonetheless the room was great.

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Separate shower and toilet.

Location:
AWESOME location next to ferry dock with views of both bridges.

Staff:
Great attentive staff

BREAKFAST:
No experiences here.

LUNCH:
No experiences here.

DINNER:
No experiences here.

POOL:
No pool

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews