We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

GROUP SIZE:
2 people.

TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge. This was a splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
1 night overnight stay for a birthday weekend.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Welcome/Check-In:
We arrived in the later in the afternoon after enjoying a nice urban hike around downtown Sausalito. Check in was simple and attendants were cordial.

Room:
Awesome location right off of Sausalitos main drag. Amazing view of San Francisco skyline and both bridges. Wished that all rooms had balconies for the price that we paid but nonetheless the room was great.

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Separate shower and toilet.

Location:
AWESOME location next to ferry dock with views of both bridges.

Staff:
Great attentive staff

BREAKFAST:
No experiences here.

LUNCH:
No experiences here.

DINNER:
No experiences here.

POOL:
No pool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    96
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
539
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here during a three-week driving trip down the Pacific Coast Highway with a week stopover in Wine Country. What a wonderful, relaxing place to recharge! Our balcony was about eight feet above the water and we had great views of SF and Alcatraz. The wine and cheese in the evenings and the breakfast each morning are wonderful, and you can enjoy them on your deck/balcony, if you prefer. When you walk out the front door of the Inn, you are right in the middle of the action along waterfront of Sausalito, but your room is an oasis from all of the hustle and bustle--just a perfect place to read and relax, watch the sailboats in the harbor--whatever you want to do in your downtime. Ask for a room on the first floor as far down the hall from the front desk as possible, then relax. You'll love it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank siloamjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is our second time staying here, and again we were not disappointed. The rooms are lovely, and what a view. Wake up in the morning and look across San Francisco Bay, they do complimentary breakfast, but for an extra $3 have it in your room out on the deck.After having a busy day in SF coming back to the Inn and out on your deck is so peaceful- just wonderful.The staff are so friendly and helpful too.also, complimentary cheese and wine early evening.Sausalito itself is such a pretty town,stroll/or use the free bicycles from the Inn along the harbour to view the houseboats is a must ,with some great restaurants, we only stayed 3 nights, and went to Poggio and Scomas- great food.Just a short trip away is Muir woods with the giant Redwood trees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just wrote a review of the Fairmont in Sonoma that said that the value was not there for the price. This place is quite the opposite. For the same price, we had an outstanding room with a beautiful balcony with the bay below our feet....wow! And, it included continental breakfast and a wine/cheese afternoon snack. Simply wonderful... The service was impeccable, the room was delightful, the bed so cushy. And San Francisco is only 15 minutes away... or you can take a ferry just a few steps away to Fisherman's Wharf and it is a 30 minute ferry ride. Absolutely fantastic find... Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think any would be great but we had the one with the fireplace...and we used it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nothing better than waking from a fabulous night's sleep to see San Francisco across the bay from your balcony. The staff was incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations, and the room was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

A beautiful hotel tucked amidst Sausalito's art galleries. A ferry ride away from san Francisco. Lovely cosy rooms... beautiful view of the bay. Fireplaces in the room. Long walks in the beautiful main street of Sausalito. Nice roomy balcony. A happy hour everyday..free drinks, fruit and varieties of cheese!

Room Tip: It was an awesome experience... choose any room facing the bay! there is no way of rating the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadafS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Previous reviews have said it very well. It really is a spectacular view. We stayed in the Bay View room, 1st floor with big balcony and wood burning fireplace. My husband used to be in the air pollution prevention business and was concerned about the smell from the wood burning fireplace. While he was on the balcony that evening, I lit the fire and the ambience was fabulous. Took bubble baths everynight in the huge, jet tub and had a fire everynight. We were there for four nights and enjoyed every minute. We watched the sailboats from the Americas Cup race in the bay. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The wine and cheese reception was delightful. The bed was very comfy. Yes, it is pricey, but I would definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Bay view room (109 I think) was roomy with jet tub, wood burning fireplace and large balcony right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcrowcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing