We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Cullman, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at The Inn Above Tide June 3rd through the 7th. The staff at the hotel was fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze, though we did have to wait until check in time to get in our room. We stayed in a king deluxe with a fireplace. We have read some reviews that the rooms were like a closet, but we found the room to be very comfortable. The balcony and the view from the balcony were breathtaking. We could see the San Francisco skyline, Alcatraz and the Bay Bridge. The ferry to San Francisco is right next door to the hotel and it was very convenient. Sausalito is a wonderful place. Everything is within walking distance. It's one of the most quaint places we've ever been to.

The breakfast provided by the hotel in the drawing room every morning was great. They had a bountiful supply of fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and cereal. Coffee and tea were available all day long.

If we are ever fortunate enough to get back to Northern California, there's no question that The Inn Above Tide will be the place to stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamaG-Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    100
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
72
560
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Beautiful Hotel, beautiful location, fantastic views,very nice, helpful staff. Ignore the comments on paper thin walls and small rooms. True they are a trifle thin and yes rooms could be larger (some are) but this is more than compensated for by the balcony and 'to die for views of the bay' - Beds are lovely, everything is clean and smart - Whist coffee is always available in the reception, we would have preferred to have the facility in our room. However we would definitely go back, - cant wait!

  • Liked — Lovely room, location and fantastic views
  • Disliked — No coffee in our room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timothyroberttozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Recently spent a magical two days at this hotel! Everything was excellent, the friendliness of the staff, the breakfasts, the cheese and wine reception and to cap it all we had a room with a view to die for!! We spent the whole of an afternoon just sitting on the deck watching the world pass by from large tankers to small canoes and San Francisco in the background.

Could not fault anything at all, you should try it for yourselves.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

This place had the most amazing view ever. Our room (106) was right on the water. We had breakfast delivered to our room to enjoy on the patio to soak in the views. Comfy bed, very clean. Would definitely stay here again- the view itself is worth every penny. Great location. Sausalito is a cute town and convenient to San Fran and other day trips. The Ferry to San Fran is right next to the Inn- so convenient! Must also visit Muir Woods- beautiful!

When staying- must eat at Sushi Ran!!

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Inn Above Tide. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room which was not grand in any way. In fact, it was claustrophobic as has been mentioned before on this site. However, despite tripping over our luggage as there was no room in the armoire to unpack, we loved the patio. Walls are indeed paper thin and you can hear your neighbors when on the patio--and sometimes when in the room.

Service is excellent! The very helpful staff lit our fireplace for us and were totally accomodating and unobtrusive. We loved the views but would ask for a larger room next time. Bathroom need renovation for the price point. We have traveled to many small luxury properties and found that the decor needed refreshing at Inn Above Tide but not in the Penthouse Suite which we were shown.

The price is $1000 for the suite and it is huge and elegant. If only the other rooms and suites were similarly decorated and larger, the place would be paradise.

If you go, request a suite, enjoy the views, breakfast on your terrace with a view to die for of the City and Bay, good continental breakfasts and wine and cheese hour, and helpful staff.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — tiny rooms, dated baths but excellent shower heads
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpqmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

An amazing hotel when accidently found on the internet. We arrived at The Inn Above Tide late on Saturday evening, which was the beginning to our vacation. Upon check in we were greeted by an excellent staff htat was very accomodating and friendly. Because we missed the wine anc cheese hour at the hotel, the front desk sent a complimentary bottle of chardonnay to our room. We enjoyed our wine on the deck over looking SF and a brilliant moon lit sky. The next morning we woke up to a terrific sunrise from our deck....breath taking to say the least.

Breakfast in the drawing room was a great way to start the day. This hotel is perfectly situated on the water and amzing. Very Ritz Carlton like in all respects. Highly recomend The Inn above Tide.

  • Liked — The View
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rickchurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Stayed there 2 nights - in an upstairs room with a sweeping view of San Francisco and the Bay. Beautiful room with fireplace, outstanding service, really loved the place.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SCTravelerSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
984 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,213 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,213 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing