We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun trip”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun trip”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late May. The location and view are unparalleled. We were in a delux king room. It is probably worth the extra cost for the balcony, if one is available. The only problem we had was internet access. We were in furthest room away from the office, so the signal was problay low. If interent access is important, I would request a room closer to the office. The breakfast was very good. You could either bring it up to your room or eat it in a small comfortable room with a few tables. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    97
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
70
544
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This review is a bit late in coming because I've not long discovered the wonder that is Trip Advisor!

We booked this hotel after our original choice in the centre of San Francisco suddenly disappeared from the Virgin Holidays Website. All I can say is someone must have been smiling on us on that day! The Inn Above Tide is perfection.

The Inn is located across the bay from San Francisco itself. You can either get a Taxi to the city or use the ferry service that departs from right out side the hotel. Check inn was friendly and efficient and we were made to feel most welcome. They even knew who we were before we had given them our names! The room was stunning. Beautifully clean and decorated with everything you could need or want. The crowning addition was the spacious balcony that looked straight out onto San Francisco Bay. There really are now words to do the view justice.

They Inn does not have a restaurant but Cheese, wine and crackers are available every evening as is a constant supple of Tea & Coffee. Continental Breakfast is also available each morning either in the lounge or delivered to your room. Nothing beats sitting in the early morning sun on your balcony with breakfast believe me. Although the Inn does not have a restaurant, local eatery's do deliver to it, however I urge you to go out and eat. I thoroughly recommend Angelinos a local family run Italian on the sea front. Beautiful food and beautiful service. You are made to feel like a regular and most welcome diner the moment you walk through the door.

Sausalito is a picturesque town in Marin Country that probably meets most peoples expectation of a small American town. The people are friendly and you can walk from the town to the Golden Gate Bridge. Sausalito is very quiet at night but San Francisco isn't far if you want the bright lights.

San Francisco is a beautiful city however we enjoyed escaping it each night to our retreat and sitting on the balcony over looking the bay with a glass of wine. If you stay here you get the best of bath worlds.... The Big American City with all it charms and then small town America which is just as, if not more pleasing. Be warned though.... YOU MAY END UP WANTING TO LIVE HERE!

The Inn staff are extremely polite and friendly and nothing is to much trouble. They know your names from the moment you appear in reception and they never forget it. They also seem to know your regular pattern so they know when you are about and when you are out... consequently you never see housekeeping!

I could go on... This place is worth every penny you pay for it and you wont regret staying here! Book now!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was recently on a road trip with my boyfriend and when we made the decision to go through San Francisco, his father immediately reserved a room for us here. Let me just say, I wasn't sure how I would feel about California, especially the big cities because I usually feel overwhelmed. So being in Sausalito, The Inn Above Tide really gives you the best of both worlds, A beautiful view of SF Bay and Alcatraz, when you walk out of the hotel, or bike on one of the provided street cruisers, you step into Sausalito, a quaint little town that is like a scene right out of a movie. Aside from it's location, the inn's facilities are small but where it lacks grandiosity it makes up for in quality. I stayed in a King room, it was small cozy, very light and breezy with a balcony and fireplace which is perfect in the bay weather. The bed was luxurious and the bathroom clean. THE BATH ROBES!!! Yes, that is the whole sentence. If you have 150 dollars they are for sell, buy one. This hotel was so comfy and beautiful we barely left the room but to walk down the bay front to Fred's a locally famous breakfast nook. The was the perfect place for much needed R&R and honestly the biggest reason to go back to the west coast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalialot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Recently spent one night at the end of our anniversary trip and have found what is now one of my favourite hotels, ever.
Fantastic location, hanging over the waters edge in Sausilito with a view to die for, Angel Island, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge and the San Francisco skyline.
Excellent service and fantastic room facilities (including binoculars).
Its not cheap but what a treat !
Wine and cheese in the evening and coffee / tea station with fruit available all day included in the price. A really nice buffet breakfast that you could take back to your balcony on a tray and eat on the deck with a view in the morning sunshine.
We will return !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,678 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed one night in a Delux King this past weekend. We highly anticipated our stay as we had heard so many good things. I'm happy to report they are all true. This hotel is really made great by two things: the staff and the location. The staff is very friendly, amazingly helpful, and genuine. You'd expect this from a $400/night property. The location is also excellent being RIGHT on the water.

The wine and cheese reception (daily 5-7pm) was very good though the cheese was better than the wine. The breakfast was excellent and delivered to the room for a small $3 fee.

My biggest complaint was probably room size. There is room for a small desk and the bed. Thats about it. The room is very narrow. I expect this in California, so its not a huge concern.

The other concern was on the 3rd (top) floor there is a skylight in the room. This made for a VERY early wakeup. And since we were out most of the night, it was an unwelcome one. You'd think they'd have some sort of shade for this. Maybe it was only in my room? I'll assume most of the 3rd floor rooms have the same setup. So keep that in mind if you want to sleep past dawn.

Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is top. Seems the largest balconies are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's the "on the water" location that separates this from the normal. It's a stunning view and exciting experience to walk to your back door an take in the San Francisco skyline from your balcony. The hotel offers a great location and a terrific breakfast and free wine at 5PM. Even the coffee is gourmet. It's not the watered now stuff. The room we chose was not covered. But you can choose either. The rooms are small but so what...it's on the water! It's also nice that it's air conditioned. Not all hotels are in the area. You just feel lucky to have a room here. It's a darn exciting location.

Room Tip: Look at a couple rooms and get the one with the best view. Covered and uncovered is a preference you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenTammyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This little hotel hanging out over the water could not have been better for a birthday/mothers' day weekend. The private deck with a view of SF and the bay was very special. The place is very well appointed and unbelievably quiet, even though it's smack dab in the middle of Sausalito right next to the ferry dock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.2 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Property: The Inn Above Tide
Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing