We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably our favorite room ever!”
Review of The Inn Above Tide

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sausalito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Above Tide
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We cannot say enough about the beauty of the room, view, and wonderful breakfasts of our stay. We didn't want to leave the room, it was so sumptious! The staff was available but inobtrusive. We walked to The Spinnaker for some meals and had world-class dining at Denny's prices($12-15 lunch). The Inns location was private but so close to everything. We will be back!!!

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank roodegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 800 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2008

Always an amazing experience. The staff is courteous and professional. The breakfast is a perfect start to your day, either delivered to your room or in the dining room. And the wine and cheese reception is wonderful too.

We spent our honeymoon here 6 years ago and we keep coming back. It's always a perfect romantic getaway, especially the Vista suite. We've never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turtlescove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I was completely disappointed by this hotel. For one thing, you cannot not see the SF skyline that close up from your room unless you use very strong binoculars - and only if it is a clear day which in my case was very rare. What good is a view when all you see is fog? Not to mention the recent oil spill gunk and sewage spills....not very appetizing.

That being said, the decent view is the only thing this hotel has going for it. From when I walked in, the lobby is extremely small. There were four people in front of us to check in and we barely fit inside. A women who looked as if she never smiled a day in her life checked us in. She was so arrogant that you would think she owned the place rather than working it's front desk. She never said thank you, your welcome, or now that I think of it she didn't say hello either. The lack of service was a sign of things to come...

Our room was so close to the lobby that we could hear the front desk staff talking and the chattering of patrons in the lobby even with our door closed. Our room was advertised as a suite - but let me tell you - this was not a suite. It was one VERY SMALL room with two chairs (one of which had a cigarette hole in the fabric). The deck was adequate in size but overshadowed by the above balcony. You could hear the people on the balcony above you talking as if they were right in front of you. Not condusive to relaxing. The bathroom was very sub-par considering the high price of this hotel. The spa tub looks like a very old model, surrounded with cheap plain tiles remincent of a Motel 6 bath. Hermes bath ammenities are a futile attempt to add class to the bathroom. There were plenty of areas in the bath that needed a good scrubbing. I dont like seeing extremely dirty tile grout when I pay $500+ a night. We didn't use the whirlpool tub because I was worried that the jets were not cleaned adequately considering the dirty tile grout on the floor and shower walls. Throughout our stay we heard nearby TVs and people walking above us. We couldn't leave the deck doors open unless we wanted to hear the people on either side or above us. The decor of the room was ok - but really in need of updating. The carpet is worn in places and many of the furnishings had scratches and nicks. Not what you expect for a "luxury" hotel. I will not stay here again- there are too many wonderful hotels in SF with better service and rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GucciGirly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed here for our first anniversary and absolutely loved it. We had the Bayview room and it was so wonderful and romantic. The room was on the small side, but the view more than made up for it. There were floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay and a fireplace in the room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge jaccuzzi tub. The staff was friendly, but not overly so-your privacy was respected. The staff did arrange for in room massages. The location could not be better. We didn't drive the whole weekend. We were able to walk to dining, shopping, etc. Get breakfast delivered to your room-well worth the $3.00 charge. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Having stayed here as part of my husband's 50th birthday celebration in 2006, there was never going to be anywhere else for me to be on mine. The staff made sure that I will always remember my birthday from the welcome the minute we drove up, to the birthday card from the staff, champagne, chocolates and a beautiful rose that greeted us in our suite. The suite itself was fantastic, and the views from the deck will always bring us back. This hotel could not be in a better setting and is worth every penny we paid for our suite.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ajacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have stayed here few times and always it has been a pleasure! The rooms are very nice with the best views of the bay. Having breakfast on your own deck is really enjoyable watching the sail boats pass. San Francisco is always visible in good weather, but also Angel Island, Alcatraz as well as Bay Bridge and Oakland Hills. The hotel is right downtown, so it is easy to go out and just walk along the water or rent a kayak/bike. Nice coffee shops and restaurants nearby. Last time we took the ferry to SF and really enjoyed the trip. No hassle with parking in San Francisco. Service in the hotel is friendly and the wine/cheese reception a nice way to meet people. Overall, the best place to stay in Sausalito regardless of the price.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ankakalpazanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Yes, the view is spectacular, but...

The walls are paper-thin. When the TV in the next room goes on, you will know what show they're watching -- and what they're doing while they're watching. Ugh!

Add in a rather arrogant staff and you'll want to run over to old standby Casa Madrona or get back on the ferry to the City.

Say a word to a friend in a normal speaking voice while standing on your balcony and have some angry woman (can't blame her - she was probably as annoyed with the acoustics as I was) yell from 2 floors below that she can "hear your conversation."

Rooms are claustrophobically small.

Look for good vacation value and peace and quiet elsewhere.

Did I mention the unfriendly staff?

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FrequentFlyerC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
0.1 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Above Tide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Above Tide

Address: 30 El Portal, Sausalito, CA 94965-2141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $255 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic San Francisco Bay views are the signature of The Inn Above Tide. This intimate Sausalito waterfront hotel with 31 rooms and suites is a magnificent location for a uniquely inspiring luxury retreat. Chic and understated interiors lead to simply mesmerizing views from the private furnished room decks. Sited directly on SF Bay, every room has sweeping views of the bay, city skyline, Alcatraz, Angel Island and Marin. The spectacular but brief ferry ride to SF is mere steps from the hotel. Intimately connected to the village of Sausalito, yet magically separated due to its bay front setting, The Inn Above Tide is a minute’s stroll to galleries, restaurants and shops. The scenic vineyards of Sonoma and Napa are just a short drive north. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Tide Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Above Tide
Above Tide Hotel
Inn Above Tide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing