We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn Above Tide
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$380
$359
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cavallo Point(Sausalito)
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
$259
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Corte Madera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveler rating
679
99
16
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
99
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesequichesan franciscosea lionspastriesa king deluxe roomwood burning fireplacevista suitedrawing roomangel islandbay bridgeworth every pennyprivate deckcontinental breakfastbreakfast deliveredcorner roomgranola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 805 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This place is top notch. As soon as you walk in you smell the Bvlgari White that permeates through the Inn and see the bay. Absolutely picture perfect views from every room of my city by the bay. The bed in breakfast is fresh and flavorful. There are so many great restaurants near by. Our favorite is Horizons; formerly The Trident. A very international area with tourists from all over the globe. Cute shops. But the Inn itself is super fantastic!!!

Room Tip: You can't miss unless you want a balcony. All rooms have ocean views although some have no balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanjayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My pickiest girlfriend recommended this hotel and so did all the reviewers of Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed! Lovely room with fireplace and excellent view of San Francisco. It's not a cheap hotel but it provides a wonderful vibe, great location right next to ferry and restaurants, free bikes, great valet service, delicious breakfast and helpful/friendly staff. Small and intimate and you feel like you are a million miles away from San Francisco. I would definitely return here and would stay for much longer than 3 days next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Need to adjust your price listing up, but, at whatever price, it is the best. The views over the bay are incomparable, the amenities luxurious, and the staff friendly and helpful. you are right next door to the Ferry landing, so getting to SF is a breeze. Location in "downtown" Sausalito is in walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All the room are lovely, but it is worth it to get the fireplace.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We just returned from five days at one of the best places we've ever stayed - The Inn Above Tide in Sausalito. This trip was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have made a better choice.

First, there is the location, literally right ON the water. We stayed in Room 101, first floor, first room. The view from our patio covered all of San Francisco, Alcatraz, the Bay Bridge, and more. STUNNING! You'll want to spend a lot of time there. We recommend you bring a warm sweater or jacket. Even in August the morning and evening fog and wind make it
chilly. Of course, you can enjoy the view from inside, sitting by your wood-burning
fireplace.

Regarding location, the hotel is centrally located to shopping and restaurants in town.

Second, the service is outstanding. Every hotel employee we encountered was friendly, helpful, and efficient. Roman, at the front desk, was especially helpful, and all the Valera were so great we didn't care about the parking fee.

The complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese were far better than what you generally receive. Breakfast included quiche, quality pastries, wonderful fruit, hard boiled eggs - healthy and delicious. The wine was decent quality and the cheese included Brie,
blue cheese, and smoked Gouda. You may choose to have breakfast delivered to you room for a small fee, or eat in the comfortable Day Room.

The only complaint we had was the minimal storage for a 5 day stay. It would have been fine for a weekend, but with only an armoire (no dresser with drawers), we had to keep
many things in our suitcase. Not an insurmountable problem, but a minor irritation.

If you are considering a visit to Marin County, we could not recommend The Inn Above Tide more highly!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TustinTraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Another visit to the Inn and we have yet to have any problems. The location (on San Francisco Bay) is ideal and breakfast in the morning, wine/cheese in the evening and internet access are included. The nearby parking lot has changed its rules, but the Inn still provides substantial discounts. If your plan is to explore the North Bay region, this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews