We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Just Keeps Getting Better”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We just spent our second weekend at Cavallo Point, over Mother's Day, and have nothing but rave reviews since our last visit, June 2008. Our first weekend we stayed in the new rooms on top of the hill, with spectacular views of the GG Bridge. We enjoyed the restaurant food, staff and service after a fabulous massage. We found the staff excited about their new resort and very accommodating. We decided to return for Mother's Day weekend with Mom and had family meet us there (they live in the area). This time we stayed in the Officer's Quarters, a 2 bdrm quaintly restored handicapped suite, since Mom is disabled.

I honestly don't think I've seen Mom smile so much. She was treated like a queen by the staff, as we were. Check in was a breeze, and we were even greeted by the concierge, Nancy, who helped us with reservations later in our stay. We called several times for someone to pick us up to take Mom (& us) to the restaurant, bar or gift shop and staff couldn't have been more prompt and gracious. Housekeeping was always around by 11:00 a.m. and our rooms were turned down at night, with fresh towels and accessories. The restaurant food, staff and service was top notch; even room service went beyond our expectations.

We can't say enough about the breathtaking views, walks, drives, vistas and sites of the surrounding area. We especially loved walking around all of the bunkers. If we had to complain about anything, it would be that we didn't want to get out of those unbelievably comfortable beds.
It's the most restful night's sleep anyone could ask for.

We are looking forward to our third visit to Cavallo Point in June, for another family gathering. We've been extremely fortunate to have stayed in all of the Passport Resorts including Post Ranch, Cousteau Fiji, Sea Ranch and Hana, Maui. We've never been let down yet; they just keep getting better and better.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

Receptionist was terrible. Spent half an hour waiting on a couple who "may refer friends who come to town." The receptionist did not even acknowledge me and finally the concierge tried to check me in struggling for an eternity with the computer system - yikes.

Booked the basic $240 a night room: found at the back of one of the quarters, tiny and dismal. A rare heat wave in S.F. and the temperature in the room was stifling. We called reception to complain but no response. We went to check out and then got upgraded to a nice one bed suite, but that was still HOT. No air conditioning because it is an "Eco" hotel. The manager suggested opening the windows, but oops no screens - an oversight we were informed. The manager pointed out that Cavallo Point did not have a bug problem only a few mosquitos?! Being a mosquito magnet I awoke to seven bites, my four-year old had two on her arms.

Begin a new day and numerous fire engines and police cars spotted at the bottom of the resort. Complete chaos. We were chased away from the area with a whisper from a staff member of "a spill." The staff were completely at odds with information. We packed up and left immediately feeling very unsettled and unsafe.

I did visit the spa which was beautiful and poked my head into the restarurant and bar which seemed very happening the night before. I may return to use these facilities but will find other lodging.

8  Thank rileyc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Hotel Cavallo has transformed the retired army base just on the north end of the GG bridge. They offer two room types -- traditional & contemporary, I chose contemporary. The rooms are finished with a light asian/zen flair (light & dark woods, simple lines, clean decor, white linens, etc.) The room was extra large by SF standards and would compare well to properties in Napa for 2x the price. The contemporary buildings were completed 9 months ago and still had the light smell of fresh paint. The hotel itself was quiet and easy to navigate. Fantastic wine selection at reasonable rates. Wireless coverage was spotty, which is unsurprising given the hotel's location. Service was lacking, but otherwise we had a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

When the weather is nice, Northern Calif is magical. We lucked out last weekend and spent 2 nights at Cavallo Point. This is an old Army installation, restored recently. It's right at the Golden Gate bridge with amazing views of the bay and SF.

We stayed in room 403--one of the historical rooms on the parade green. Great view, very comfortable bed. The other option were modern rooms built on the hillside. I suppose the views would have been nice too, but the restored rooms had so much character.

The resort has a nice spa. I had the eco-massage-60 min. It was $145, but one of the best massages I've had. Genevive was the therapist--great.

We ate at Murray Circle, the onsite Michelin rated dining room. It's gotten mixed reviews, and I would agree, but for different reasons. The service was fine, albeit alittle snooty. The menu was just too gourmet for me. Foods were prepared in very complicated ways, described down to the last detail. Also, I'm not a fan of exotic stuff, i.e. squid ink risotto, etc. So, there were a lot of things on the menu that I wouldn't eat. Andrew Zimmerman ( they guy who eats weird stuff) would have loved this place.

Hiking around the resort and walking across the GG bridge was fun. We attended a complimentary historical walk presented by a ranger from the Presidio, which was very interesting.

Staff was very friendly. Location was amazing. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabernt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Our young son had a week off from school and we thought a trip to San Fran would be perfect. Some friends suggested Cavallo Point and it was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. From the moment we arrived at the historic site, we were greeted and shown to reception. After check-in they took us via shuttle (my son's favorite part) to our room - it was in a historic building and had two HUGE bedrooms, a bathroom and den - it was better than our house!! Everything was first class and the sheets, blankets and beds were amazing. The only thing better was the view of San Francisco from the wrap-around patio just outside our room. We ate almost all our meals on site - the food was incredible including the comp breakfast - the croissants were better than what you find in Paris. The dinner in Murray Circle was so good - one night we had Bison and it was so tender - the fish was also terrific. The also had a terrific kid's menu - the chicken fingers were great and the special mouse in a cup was a tastey hit.

We stayed for four nights and dreaded leaving - it was a great trip and having a three year old, yet being able to have luxurious surrounding really made for a wonderful get away.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBandBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The rooms are huge with incredibly comfortable beds, pillows and sheets! We had a 2 bedroom suite with a living room and beautiful view over the park to the Bay. The food was phenomenal, the spa was delightful and serene, the staff was professional and helpful. The artwork is museum quality and the offered classes and spa treatments were first class. It's so much nicer to stay at Cavallo Point than in the midst of San Francisco. Cavallo is just on the other side of the Golden Gate and the views of the city are spectacular. You don't even need a car, as a hotel shuttle will take you to the Sausalito ferry. Solves a major parking problem. It also makes it easier to visit Marin County and Stinson Beach area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asheram5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Point Cavallo for a night with a gift Certificate given to us by our company for lodging for a corporate event in the bay area, and it was easily the best over night experience we have had. Upon arrival we were promptly greeted by the desk agent and our personal concierge, willing to do anything we asked. They even went to the store for us!! The only down side was that arriving at night is a bit tricky as there are absolutely no lights on the road the the property, but they give you a very handy flashlight on your room key, which they also let us keep. We are planning our next stay at this property next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelylady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,561 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
475 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $451 - $866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing