We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

An excellent experience! The former officers' quarters are spacious and comfortable, even with two gas-lit fireplaces, amply provisioned, and environmentally sensitive. Service at all points- restaurant (reviewed separately), bar, valet parking, front desk - all very friendly and welcoming. Because Cavallo Point is set amongst other Golden Gate activities, there's a healthy mix of people, which keeps the preciousness of the privileged set at bay. And the views- spectacular! Though our trip was short(we live in the Bay Area), and the traffic enroute snarly, we felt that just a one-night stay was truly relaxing and satisfying.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the older officers' quarters- they are spacious and well-provisioned.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are well ahead of the curve on this, including healthy food options and minimal plastic.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babubenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point shorlty.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    211
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
197
431
29
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here to "ring-in" my 50th birthday. We loved it so much that we stayed and extra night which meant canceling our journey to Half Moon Bay, Big Sur and Carmel. Totally worth it!!!!

We took the sunset cruise, cooking class and several spa services. All amazing and excellent. I also did yoga and hiked around the property.

If you are looking for tranquility, old world charm, elegance with arrogance, and the ability to physically engage, this is the place.

The entire staff was amazing. I must give a "shout-out" to Nancy (concierge), Scott (business office), Jose (Murrary Circle) and Kat (pastry chef).

Thank You to Everyone!!!!

Room Tip: I would definitely go with the historical rooms. And, highly recommend the sunset cruise.
See more room tips
Green Features: This property really seems to pay attention to "greenness".
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatShasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We appreciate your feedback and will be certain to share them with the specific team members mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishertown PA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Totally awesome experience. My son , who we were visiting in California , treated my wife and I to a spa day including a massage and the use of the facilities at the resort. The massage was both relaxing and therapeutic , and the ambiance of the overall spa was very serene and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and eager to provide assistance when needed. We made use of the facilities including outdoor heated pool , eucalyptus steam rooms , private hot tubs , and exhilarating outdoor shower . We also thoroughly enjoyed lunch at the T Bar including fresh wraps and complimentary tea. What a truly wonderful experience , both relaxing and revitalizing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredveteran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the property, especially noting the Spa. I will be certain to share your feedback with the staff.

Please do come visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When we checked-in we got "historic room". This room was terrible - very outdated with the damp smell. We called reception to find out if there any other rooms available and found out that our room was not renovated and the other were not available. We went out for a dinner and when came back talked to receptionist again bagging to get another room and it worked - we got a renovated one - which was superb - 5 star! So make sure to request renovated room. Breakfast was exelant. Really loved the hotel (exept "historic room"). Would definetly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank 7_I_G_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post. I'm happy to hear that the contemporary room was more to your pleasing and that we were able to provide you with a wonderful stay.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked us for my hubbie's birthday and wanted to surprise him with the sunset cruise. I guess the cruise got canceled at the last moment and they were able to reach me before we checked in. I was disappointed about missing that. They were so concerned that we still have a great time. Joshua G. gave us a large lodge credit and we were upgraded to a huge suite. They really did everything to compensate. What could have gone bad really turned out good.

Room Tip: We prefer the vintage rooms rather than the new lodge. We have dogs and we love the feel of the old...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's nice that they have recycle bins in the room!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday with us. I'm sorry to hear about the cruise cancellation and am happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Whatever luster the rooms lacked was made up for by the meticulously hospitable staff. While I would not characterize the property itself as child friendly (adult only pool), there is an amazing hands on kid's museum adjacent (www.baykidsmuseum.org/). My son, age four was thrilled. The property seems quite dog-friendly which may be disconcerting to people looking for fine dining sans pooch. Overall the aesthetic is environmentally responsible luxury that honors our nation's past while providing a nurturing serene escape.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask which floor your room is on! My father turned a bit...
See more room tips
Green Features: Impeccable and much appreciated as evidenced by their many awards and certifications. http://www.cavallopoint.com/green-initiatives.html
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngordon515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I are staying in one of the old officer's homes that have been remodeled as guest rooms. The view is that of the Golden Gate Bridge and the San Francisco skyline. The food has been remarkable and the service flawless. We hiked up the curvy road yesterday that led to the bridge and then walked across it and back. Right now, the America's Cup is being held in the bay and we were able to see the boats from one of the lodge's balconies. Today we hiked up one of the back paths and the views from the rear of the property was spectacular. Our only complaint is the lack of weights in the fitness center. It's very small and sparsely outfitted.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to them about the room choices. Some have views, some have king beds and many a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanACosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and suggestions for improvement. I will be certain to share your feedback with my team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,167 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing