We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Nearby Hotels
$380
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
$259
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Budget Inn(Corte Madera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveler rating
686
225
74
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
225
74
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We always look for a romantic spot for our anniversary weekend and this resort ticks all of the boxes. It is at the northern foot of the Golden Gate Bridge at the site of a former military base and kept much in an historic condition. There rooms come in two classes, historic and modern. We stayed in an historic room.

The historic rooms are in small buildings dotted about the property. There were four rooms to our building (which appears to have been converted from 8 rooms originally used to billet soldiers). Our room was spacious with a king bed and small gas fireplace. There was a complimentary goodie basket with some fun local treats. The bath was clean and plenty large. The sink and vanity were in the room, just outside the bath. All of the furnishings were to give the appearance of vintage in keeping with the style of the building (and the furnishings were very well chosen).

The bedding and towels were very high quality, clean and comfortable. Turndown service with chocolates was provided.

The modern rooms are located on the uphill side of the property and I suppose would have the better views, but we were very happy with our historic room, it had tremendous charm.

The hotel has a large reception/lobby with mercantile, small art exhibit (which appears to be something which changes regularly), and area where they have daily afternoon complimentary wine tasting and there is a hot tea station where we also found morning pastries. There is complimentary valet parking or you can self-park.

We had dinner in the Farley Bar which is next door to reception. This is a first come; first serve bar/restaurant. You can order from the Murray Circle menu if you like (or alternately you can make yourself a reservation at Murray Circle which is adjacent to Farley Bar). Our food and service were excellent, but the portions were too large (I know, is that really a complaint?)

During the complimentary wine tasting (where there is also bread, crackers, meats and cheeses) the general manager of the hotel (Euan Taylor) sat and chatted with us at length. He made sure that our needs were being met. We talked briefly about the property and just about ourselves. He couldn’t have been more pleasant and clearly understands the hospitality industry. It is rare that we meet a hotel manager who goes out of his way to greet and socialize with guests and makes them feel welcome and taken care of. As is evidenced by his own dogs, the hotel is also quite clearly pet friendly.

I have not one negative thing to say about Cavallo Point, it was a perfect romantic getaway and only about an hour and a half from the silicon valley. We highly recommend. Oh, one more small thing. You will find ear plugs in your bathroom. This was a first for me, didn't know quite what to make of it. You'll figure out what they're for. (Hint: FOGHORNS!) Seriously, we didn't need the earplugs, but you will hear a chorus of foghorns in the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us!

I always enjoy meeting with guests and are so pleased to hear about how much you had enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently my husband and I needed to stay near Mill Valley, CA and while wandering through hotel websites, I stumbled upon what I think is a well kept secret, THE CAVALLO POINT Hotel. Discovering their location at the foot of the Golden Gate bridge with their grass fronted grounds was like stepping back in time. From the moment we stepped into the lobby where they were serving complimentary wine in the evening to the amazing suite with not only a living room but also a front porch we felt ourselves begin to relax. The older buildings are remodeled from the turn of the century with old world elegance and all the amenities. We ate dinner in their bar area and lunch in their formal dining room and equally enjoyed both menu's. We can't stop talking about how incredible not only the hotel is but their staff is European trained service oriented. To top it all off with a drop dead view of the San Francisco skyline. Both my husband and I woke up the next day and were amazed that neither one of us had heard ANY NOISE. Absolutely the first time in any hotel. We look forward to returning and can only ask ourselves why anyone would choose to stay in the city when you can have all this luxury and service with the best view!!!.

Room Tip: We preferred staying in one of the older homes surrounding the grass area with a frontal view of the San Francisco skyline and were very satisfied rather than being in the contemporary units!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wineconosewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments!

We are ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely stay and hope to welcome you back for another visit shorlty.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way from Napa to Big Sur. The view is nothing short of spectacular. The hotel staff was very friendly and eager to help with anything we needed. You can valet park or try to find a spot outside of your room. We really enjoyed walking down to the water and taking in the view of the bridge and san francisco, we also took a drive up to Stinson beach and back on the panoramic highway which may have been the best drive i've ever done (had rented a nice sports car). There is not alot in the vicinity of the hotel (walking distance) but that was ok because they have a great bar and restaurant right there and you can get a table outside. It's really cool how they turned the old fort/barracks into this new hotel, only complaint i had was that the smell of the room reminded me of my grandparents house! But that's something i would expect from such an old place (and they also offer contemporary units). Definitely a special place that should be visited if you're in the area.

Room Tip: historical rooms if you're into it, otherwise contemporary may be the best choice
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Yes, it's expensive, but you will not regret your time spent here. It is fantastic. Food is fantastic. Spa is fantastic - meditation pool, whirlpool, steam room, tons of amenities. Beautiful grounds. It looks beautiful on the website, but multiply that by about 1000 and that's what it's like.

Room Tip: i stayed in an historic room and loved it. Don't know about the contemporary rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmm4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post-we will be certain to share your comments with our team!

We hope to welcome you back very soon for another visit to Cavallo Point.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband stayed at Cavallo Point this past week -- this was our second visit -- the first stay occurred last September. Both times we stayed in the contemporary units which we really love and found perfectly appointed in every aspect. We love the thoughtful touches -- complimentary healthy snack basket in the room upon arrival. Nespresso espresso machine and electric kettle for satisfying caffiene urges. Britta water pitcher in the mini fridge. The contemporary units are decorated in a decidedly mid-century motif with modern touches...not a thing "plastic" about them. The staff is skilled and highly attentive...and always quick to respond to any request. The golf carts used to transport guests around are pretty ubiquitous...I never waited more than a minute or two to have a cart at my disposal. If you are reasonably fit you'll find plenty to do just walking along the trails -- Sausalito, Golden Gate Bridge and the Marin Headlands are within walking distance or you can just walk down to the waterfront and watch the America's Cup sailboats sailing about. There's just one word for this place and it's "magical." I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We like the King Junior Suite -- the daybed with bay views was the perfect place to curl up for a nap after a long walk.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolCruiser2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews