We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had our wedding at Cavallo Point. Everything was excellent, from the service to the food and the setting.

If you haven't been to Cavallo Point, I will describe it. Cavallo Point is about 1/4 mile Northeast of the north end of the Golden Gate Bridge, facing San Francisco and the Bay. It is a former army base with 100 year old buildings that has been converted into a 5 star resort.

We were married on what they call the Mariposa Borracha (which means Drunk Butterfly) patio, with views of the Bay and Golden gate Bridge behind us. That is why I used the title "World Class" for this post. We were lucky that we had beautiful weather, which really made the evening perfect.

After the wedding, we stayed at the resort, which was fabulous.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding at Cavallo Point. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation and hope to welcome you back for many future visits!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Cavallo Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 996 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our recent stay at Cavallo Point is one we will not soon forget. After crossing the Golden Gate Bridge and winding down the road to the hotel, we felt like we had stepped back in time. At one time this was actually Fort Baker and the hotel rooms that circle the parade grounds, were originally the officer's quarters. The main building houses the registration and the building next door has Farley's Bar and the main dining room. We had drinks and appetizers in the bar before dinner. You can sit inside and enjoy the decor, much of which seems original, or sit outside on the porch that goes the length of the building. From here you can look out at the Bridge or across the bay to the city of San Francisco. You can see the entire skyline of the city.
Dinner was absolutely fantastic. The service was outstanding, with special mention to the wine manager, Jamie. He was most helpful in suggesting the two wines we enjoyed with dinner.
The pork loin was fork tender and prepared perfectly. My husband had the duck and said it was the best he had ever tasted. If you stay at this hotel you should not miss having dinner on the property.
The room...We had a suite facing out to the parade grounds. The furniture, while new, had the feeling that it was from the days when the officers occupied these rooms. The bathroom was quite large, with a wonderful shower and full tub. The decorative nick-nacks in the cupboard really added to the flavor of the room. We actually felt like we had stepped back in time. The original tin ceilings in the rooms, as well as in Farley's Bar, really added to the look and the experience. All of the employees were well versed in the history of the property and were anxious to share this information with the guests. It made the experience of being here even more meaningful. If you are coming to San Francisco for a getaway weekend, consider staying at Cavallo Point. I am sure it will be a memorable experience for you too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the former parade grounds in the center of the property have wonderful views. I think t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cineteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review! I'm ecstatic to hear that you had enjoyed your experience at the entire resort and hope to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just spent an entire week in the Frank House at Cavallo Point. Cannot begin to describe the setting, views of the Golden Gate Bridge as well as San Francisco. The grounds are amazing as the Fort is set in a horseshoe cove surrounded by huge Eucalptus and pine trees. The aroma from the trees is ridiculous! It is an old fort known as Fort Baker and was used I believe during the war. The accomodations are in the old barracks, officers quarters and the hospital! They have spared nothing in amenities. The service from the restaurants to the housekeeping is the best. The Murray Circle restaurant has exceptional food as well as service. The Farley Bar has seating inside but the weather was fantastic the whole week so everyone wanted to sit outside, for the food as well as the views. Rocking chairs line the porch in the check in building looking at the bridge. We will go back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi048Houston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for kind compliments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will share them with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

That was an awesome stay.
Rooms are nice.
View is stunning
Service is perfect.
Best stay in SF so far.
For us it was the perfekt end of an nice Holiday in California.
We can imagine why so many couples marry there, it´s beautiful
We will be back next October.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point next October.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Been there quite a few times and first time since the new menu is in place...we ate at Farley's Bar with full menu and the dishes truly sounded interesting. The overall experience was very good but the bussers are completely clueless. Unless they don't speak English....they just stare at you after a simple request repeatedly as you were a moron and never clear anything that looks finished. On the food, the Flounder 'fish chips' like dish was very good as well Burrata salad, bone marrow. Duck mains and others are weaker...good cocktails but pricey but wines off the library list is outstanding with great prices. I think I will just sit out there overlooking the tips of the GGB and sip fine wines without the annoying busboys!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DineAboutWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

In regards to your concerns, we take great care in conducting the best hiring and training procedures to ensure we retain the most professional staff. Our aim is to always provide engaging and friendly service and are sorry that our hospitality did not shine through on this occasion.

If there are any further questions I may address, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Thank you again for your post and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in 3/2013 in a contemporary king suite with view of the the Golden Gate Bridge.

We loved so much about this place:

- The views from our room was phenomenal! The room was very well-designed and space was utilized well. The double-sided fireplace was a really nice touch.
- Eucalyptus-scented amenities were so refreshing.
- Spa was nice.

Keep in mind the following:

- The property is large and there are multiple separate buildings, so you will have to valet your car (free) or self park (the lot is really far away). They drive you to your room in a golf cart after you valet. You can certainly walk, but it can be a long walk. When you check out, it's kind of a pain because you'll have to call for the golf cart ahead of time so you can get your luggage to your car. In other words, you end up relying on them for transportation even though you may not want to.
- There are also foghorns that blow every few minutes in the middle of the night. For us, this started at about 10 PM and continued until 7 AM the next morning. They do provide ear plugs, but my husband used both ear plugs AND noise reduction earphones, but could still hear it. I am a deep sleeper and was awaken several times throughout the night. Just be aware of this beforehand and understand that it is San Francisco after all!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank cvliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was here for a business meeting for three days. When I arrived it instantly obvious that this was going to be a very different experience to most normal hotels.

Approaching the checkin building you are struck by the beauty of the location and the layout of the hotel buildings. The natural bowl that Fort Bakker resides in just goes to maximise the views. Turning around to see the imposing sight of the Golden Gate Bridge is awsome.

Every morning I was able to rise early and go for a walk, either above the hotel grounds in the hills that overlook it, along the seafront to the old fort or up under the bridge and into the hills that overlook it. I have taken over 300 photo's on this trip!!

The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will be certain to share your comments and feedback with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,494 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,282 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $498 - $1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing