We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfekt !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfekt !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

That was an awesome stay.
Rooms are nice.
View is stunning
Service is perfect.
Best stay in SF so far.
For us it was the perfekt end of an nice Holiday in California.
We can imagine why so many couples marry there, it´s beautiful
We will be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point next October.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    201
    63
    30
    20
See reviews for
185
412
29
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Been there quite a few times and first time since the new menu is in place...we ate at Farley's Bar with full menu and the dishes truly sounded interesting. The overall experience was very good but the bussers are completely clueless. Unless they don't speak English....they just stare at you after a simple request repeatedly as you were a moron and never clear anything that looks finished. On the food, the Flounder 'fish chips' like dish was very good as well Burrata salad, bone marrow. Duck mains and others are weaker...good cocktails but pricey but wines off the library list is outstanding with great prices. I think I will just sit out there overlooking the tips of the GGB and sip fine wines without the annoying busboys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DineAboutWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

In regards to your concerns, we take great care in conducting the best hiring and training procedures to ensure we retain the most professional staff. Our aim is to always provide engaging and friendly service and are sorry that our hospitality did not shine through on this occasion.

If there are any further questions I may address, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Thank you again for your post and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here in 3/2013 in a contemporary king suite with view of the the Golden Gate Bridge.

We loved so much about this place:

- The views from our room was phenomenal! The room was very well-designed and space was utilized well. The double-sided fireplace was a really nice touch.
- Eucalyptus-scented amenities were so refreshing.
- Spa was nice.

Keep in mind the following:

- The property is large and there are multiple separate buildings, so you will have to valet your car (free) or self park (the lot is really far away). They drive you to your room in a golf cart after you valet. You can certainly walk, but it can be a long walk. When you check out, it's kind of a pain because you'll have to call for the golf cart ahead of time so you can get your luggage to your car. In other words, you end up relying on them for transportation even though you may not want to.
- There are also foghorns that blow every few minutes in the middle of the night. For us, this started at about 10 PM and continued until 7 AM the next morning. They do provide ear plugs, but my husband used both ear plugs AND noise reduction earphones, but could still hear it. I am a deep sleeper and was awaken several times throughout the night. Just be aware of this beforehand and understand that it is San Francisco after all!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cvliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a business meeting for three days. When I arrived it instantly obvious that this was going to be a very different experience to most normal hotels.

Approaching the checkin building you are struck by the beauty of the location and the layout of the hotel buildings. The natural bowl that Fort Bakker resides in just goes to maximise the views. Turning around to see the imposing sight of the Golden Gate Bridge is awsome.

Every morning I was able to rise early and go for a walk, either above the hotel grounds in the hills that overlook it, along the seafront to the old fort or up under the bridge and into the hills that overlook it. I have taken over 300 photo's on this trip!!

The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will be certain to share your comments and feedback with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you're looking for a quick getaway in the Bay Area, or a great place to stay while exploring Northern California, Cavallo Point is a good choice. It is perfectly located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge (you can even access the foot path that crosses the bridge. It is easy to reach San Francisco, Mill Valley, Sausalito and Tiburon. We choose to park the car and stay put. We enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool before getting a facial. We walked down to dinner from our room and had a perfectly wonderful meal at Murray Circle. The people are helpful and the grounds have something for everyone, even dogs, are welcomed as well.

Room Tip: We prefer the modern rooms. They are higher up in the property and we enjoy the view from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Please do come visit us again at Cavallo point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a unique dining experience, Cavallo Point offers a perfect spot. Sit on the deep veranda for the afternoon sun and order from the bar menu. A glass of wine or a beer with a plate of their pomme frites and an item or two from the tasty menu and you're set. You'll be looking out over the parade grounds of this old Army post, across the green lawn to the water and the upper part of the Golden Gate Bridge as it rises above the hill. Great service, food, and setting make Cavallo Point a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cloudyskiies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Lodge and the restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton, maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This has been an ideal place to hangout with a best friend or loved one. The views are breathtaking, the food and wines fabulous, nature walks including the one across the GG Bridge to San Francisco or into Sausalito! Everyone is service-oriented. The spa is gorgeous and serene. Can't wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: There is the historic section where former Army barracks and buildings have been remodeled. The Cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your lovely post!

We hope to welcome you back very soon to Cavallo Point.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing