We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views, one of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, one of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms themselves are a bit retro, with the feel of a ski lodge or very upscale summer camp. But totally comfortable, and with the amenities you'll need. So lovely to walk the trails and grounds, but there are golf carts to haul you and your luggage. Yoga and fitness options too, and lots of people were riding bikes or kayaking. We loved the breakfast, but most of all, the incomparable views of the Golden Gate, complete with rolling fog.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    208
    64
    34
    20
See reviews for
191
427
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wanting to escape the hustle & bustle of the City, my lady & I desired to bring in the New Year 2013 by banishing our stresses away at Cavallo Point on new years eve. We only utilized the Spa amenities but they were magnificent. The location is bucolic as it's nestled into the hills & you can see the orange arches of the Golden Gate Bridge from the outdoor pool (hot enough to really be a spa) rising above the property. The waiting area is serene with reclining chairs, low lighting, & a crackling fireplace where you can read a magazine or sip cucumber water/tea before your massage. We each received the Hot Stone Massage & it was euphoric releasing the stress from my entire body & I've never felt so rejuvenated before after!! We will definitely be patrons again as the experience is unparalleled for replenishment of the mind, body, & soul!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind post regarding our Spa.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience the rest of the resort!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

While Cavallo Point is located just across the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco, it feels like a million miles away. It is quiet, peaceful and the view of the city and bridge is like no where else. The staff is amazingly helpful and gracious. We stayed in a "City View" room in the old part which was beautifully redone. The best rocking chairs in the world are located throughout the property so you can just sit and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: There are the modern rooms up high which probably have a bit better view of the City. The older roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

… and at Cavallo Point, they get them all right. First, I should point out that Cavallo Point is not a cheap date. Be prepared to pony up the big bucks. The good news is that Cavallo Point does not nickel and dime. My breakfast, Internet, fitness center, an in-room basket of gourmet goodies, and a ride to the Sausalito ferry were all complimentary. The property is beautifully maintained. I stayed in a contemporary room, which contains amazing fixtures including a great tub with – break out your inner child – BUBBLE BATH, as well as a separate rain can shower. The property has a rural, pristine feel despite being a 15 minute walk to the Golden Gate Bridge (I walked to and over it – dress warmly!). My only quibble is that I would like the TV located on the wall facing the bed, and not the wall facing the sofa; watching TV in bed is one of the great guilty pleasures of hotel stays. The staff is well-trained and attentive. In a nutshell, Cavallo Point is a wonderful hotel. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post!

We look forward to welcoming back to Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite over a long weekend in January. Our suite, more like a lovely cottage than a hotel room, included 2 bedrooms (one king, two twins) and a living room with a view of San Francisco. We were on the 3rd story with lots of stairs, but our room was quiet, bright, and cozy. We were greeted with a complimentary treat basket filled with dried fruit, nuts, and chocolates and also received chocolates on our pillows each night. We had breakfast each morning at the Murray Circle restaurant and enjoyed cocktails outside each evening at the Farley Bar. We also enjoyed snacks out by the fire pit in the evening. The hiking trails and beaches of Marin were awesome and San Francisco is just a short drive or ferry ride away. We can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Historic rooms have more character and charm, but the old windows are drafty and the views are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review-we hope you return for another visit to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

A real treasure. Cavallo Point is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Sausalito. It is a retreat with spa, hiking trails and amazing views. The food was outstanding. Stayed in newer room facing Golden Gate Bridge. Room was very well appointed, fireplace was very welcome! I left this beautiful place feeling very rested. Never thought I would be able to wake up and first thing I would see was the Golden Gate Bridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you-we sincerely appreciate your kind review.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point for your next getaway very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently stayed three nights here while in SF for a family reunion. We used the "Stay 3, Pay 2" deal which really made it very reasonably priced. The room was in the newer section of the hotel and was quiet and spacious. We were three adults and two kids and fit comfortably. This place was really great since it is so close to SF and allowed us to easily get to the events of the reunion but then offered a retreat from the city so we could relax a little too.

Couple minor things to keep in mind. For the newer section of the hotel there is no parking right at the rooms, so you have to park and walk. BUT the bell staff is great and gave us and all our luggage an easy ride to our door. Also, the Golden Gate Bridge is a toll bridge, so it costs some $ every time you cross back into the city.

Overall, this stay was very nice and with the 3 for 2 deal it was well worth the little bit extra over a stay somewhere inside the city. To be in such a quiet beautiful setting looking across the bay at the city and out our room window at the Golden Gate Bridge was really fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dclc-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,912 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Property: Cavallo Point
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing