We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Psalm of Nature for the Eyes, Ears, and Soul”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Only when we left this idyllic resort to spend three days in San Francisco, did we realize how tranquil Point Cavallo is.. Waking up to a view of the Golden Gate Bridge or looking across the bay to one of the greatest cities in the world while surrounded by
nature at her best, is something everyone should be so fortunate to experience. From arrival to departure, this place was perfect. We hiked to Crissy Fields for lunch at the Warming Hut three days in a row..Be sure to hike the Coastal trail for views you will only see in northern California.. The staff was welcoming without being intrusive.. Did I mention the VIEWS!!!!! Thank you to all at Cavallo Point Lodge for replenishing our souls and filling us with memories to last a lifetime..We have already begun planning our next trip.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank seagrovetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments!

I'm very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and will be certain to share your comments with our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Cavallo Point is many things - expensive, beautiful, well-kept, modern and rustic and in a great location. BUT the hotel and restaraunt was very expensive ... and they are not really providing a Ritz Carlton experience. I don't think we would stay again.

Room Tip: I personally thought the historic rooms were more comfortable than the modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post.

I am sorry to hear that your experience at the resort did not meet with your expectations.

If I may suggest checking the "Current Offers" section on our website, as we do offer special rates and packages throughout the year.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

If there are any other questions or concerns I can address, please do not hesitate to contact me at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Flew down to SF to relax, attend a friend's B-Day in the city and was recommended Cavallo Point by a friend. Everything was fabulous, and when you go, stay up top and eat (& drink) on the front porch/deck under the heaters with the stellar view. World class!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We hope to welcome you back for another visit to Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I came on a business trip for a conference, but I had some time to look around and enjoy myself.

The room I stayed in was one of the newer rooms on the hill almost directly behind the registration office, and it was gorgeous. Great view, fireplace, great little "just in case" items, such as ear plugs, vaulted ceilings... absolutely beautiful. One of the prettiest rooms I can remember.

The grounds also were beautiful -- well manicured and maintained -- and the view of the bridge from the grounds and especially as you walk around the property or just off it are spectacular. I'll include some pics I took from either the property or within five minutes from it.

I didn't eat much there, but the food was good. I had one meal at the restaurant/bar area, and it was very good, so I'm sure that was consistent for the rest.

The staff were delightful, always offering a lift in their golf carts or just checking to make sure everything was going well with my stay.

One note: There is a "hike" around the back of the property that allegedly takes 30-45 minutes. It's not much of a hike. If you're looking for a real challenge, they have other options that involve more strenuous activity, such as the trail up to and across the bridge (which isn't THAT strenuous, but does involve a fairly steep incline and some stamina).

I will say I didn't pay for my trip, so I have no idea about its value on the dollar, but it was a wonderful experience and I'd love to stay here with my girlfriend in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post. Your kind compliments are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you and your girlfriend to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Cavallo Point is absolutely beautiful. As a San Franciscan, I came here for a quick weekend for a ladies weekend to just relax, enjoy the spa and the views. The property is breathtaking and quite similar to San Francisco's Presidio Park. The lodges where visitors stay are old colonial-like buildings, about 4 "rooms" per lodge. Our room felt more like a 2 bedroom apartment with a large bathroom but minus a kitchen. Closet space was amazing for those staying a while and wanting to feel at home. The living room had a small fridge. Cavallo Point is nothing like a hotel, but more like a very upscale adult summer camp property with sprawling lawns, hikes abound, views of the water and a gorgeous, serene spa. There are free pastries and coffee in the mornings by the main lobby and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Tip: if anyone in your party has an injury or is elderly, request a first floor room as the top floors are only accessed by a very long, narrow and steep set of stairs.

Room Tip: Bottom floor if you're injured or elderly. Steps are very narrow and steep to the top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissWordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We hope to welcome you and your guests back to Cavallo Point for another getaway very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed for only one night but would have liked to stayed much longer.
The hotel is nicely located about half an four from the City and has great views of the bay, bridge and city. The complex is a combination of both restored historical buildings and modern apartments which actually works quite well.
I stayed in a junior suite (1904) which was very spacious and extremely stylish.
The food was excellent as was the service. My stay was too short to try the spa or gym but I will certainly try to visit again.

Room Tip: Suite 1904 has great views and is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We hope to welcome back next time for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent an incredible night at Cavallo Point. The staff was delightful, rooms large and extremely comfortable,the spa was beautiful and the food and service at Murray Circle was excellent. We can't wait to return to this unique wonderful resort with beautiful views of the GG bridge. If you are traveling to the SF area or you are a local looking for a romantic night away this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Cavallo Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next night away!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
310 reviews
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
566 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
480 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range: $484 - $860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing