We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Nearby Hotels
The Gables Inn Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa(Sausalito)
$349
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
HI Marin Headlands Hostel(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$69
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
$199
$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$175
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$239
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveler rating
693
227
74
39
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
227
74
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed for only one night but would have liked to stayed much longer.
The hotel is nicely located about half an four from the City and has great views of the bay, bridge and city. The complex is a combination of both restored historical buildings and modern apartments which actually works quite well.
I stayed in a junior suite (1904) which was very spacious and extremely stylish.
The food was excellent as was the service. My stay was too short to try the spa or gym but I will certainly try to visit again.

Room Tip: Suite 1904 has great views and is a good size
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We hope to welcome back next time for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent an incredible night at Cavallo Point. The staff was delightful, rooms large and extremely comfortable,the spa was beautiful and the food and service at Murray Circle was excellent. We can't wait to return to this unique wonderful resort with beautiful views of the GG bridge. If you are traveling to the SF area or you are a local looking for a romantic night away this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay with us at Cavallo Point.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next night away!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The homes of the officers at historic Fort Baxter may have been quite crowded if they had to provide space for an entire family. But if they are divided up into hotel rooms then the space is far more generous than what you find in your standard hotel room of a large chain.
The little houses that are part of the hotel compound provide a lot of personal charm. You feel very far away from the busy city life but when you see the Golden Gate bridge behind the little hill you're reminded that it takes only a short drive to get back into San Francisco.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I love visiting via Historic Hotels. They have managed to keep the historic charm alive and provide great modern amenities. Just be sure to request your sofa bed linens with your reservation or before you go to dinner. We had to wait for almost an hour.

I agree with the previous reviewers that the food from Murray Circle is great and the view from the breakfast window or porch can't be beat!

We'll go back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caraibespourmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the delay in the delivery of your sofa bed linens and wanted to assure that this is not a common occurrence.

We greatly appreciate your compliments and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Cavallo Point this past weekend as part of the birthday getaway weekend. The Fort Baker buildings look unchanged on the outside and this is a good thing. The interiors of the old buildings are beautiful and up to date. We had breakfast in the Murray Circle restaurant and it was great food. It's a wonderful place to walk around during the day and easy to get to downtown Sausalito or the ferry to San Francisco via their shuttle. The staff were very helpful and curteous.
We stayed in the modern buildings which are all green construction and have stunning views of the Golden Gate bridge. The room was large and had good amenities, mini fridge, electric tea kettle, coffee maker, robes and gas fireplace. The only downside was that we were on the ground floor and could easily hear the folks upstairs walking about. The outdoor lighting at night is kept low so if you are going to walk around, bring a flashlight.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you stay in the modern buildings.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point for many more special events.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews