We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavallo Point
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sausalito(Sausalito)(Great Value!)
$285
$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$453
$342
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lodge at Tiburon(Tiburon)(Great Value!)
$258
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamalpais Motel(Mill Valley)
$119
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn Above Tide(Sausalito)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Budget Inn(Corte Madera)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
691
226
74
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
226
74
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray circlefarley barthe golden gate bridgefort bakerhistoric roomsmeditation poolmilitary basegolf cartfront porchcooking schoolrocking chairsking suitesan franciscoparade groundofficers quartersdiscovery museumcooking class
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to experience the bay area in a truly unique fashion then this it! We enjoy historic hotels and have stayed at the Fairmont, the Stanford Court and the Clift and enjoyed them all. The Cavallo though is just outside the city in a national park. You get tremendous isolation and serenity even though you a looking back at the city. The location is literally next to the Golden Gate bridge. The rooms are outstanding. You definitely want to stay in one of the historic rooms because that is the point of being there. Our room was a king with a sitting area with a generous amount of space. We could have easily stayed a week. All the furnishings were top quality and very comfortable. Even the though these are all old officers quarters the hotel is new and the rooms are a blend of modern taste in an historic setting. Sometimes historic means drab, dated and musty. Not here you truly enjoy the rooms.

We were here for an event and as such all the meals were catered by the restaurant on site. Based on the quality of the food the restaurant must be excellent. Only complaint over the whole weekend was paying $18 for a martini! Be sure to take a car over to the west side of the peninsula and hike throughout the park. It is a remarkable place.

You will simply love this place. Plan an afternoon or evening just sitting on the porch taking in all the quiet, open space and the view. The website can not truly capture how amazing this place is.

Room Tip: Request an historic room with a sitting area, porch and view. Be very specific when making your reservation and then make sure they delver on arrival.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a place! A hotel in an old army barracks, you can almost hear the voices and see the troops when you walk across the grounds. Better yet, sit on a rocking chair outside one of the houses with a glass of wine complementary from reception and take in the atmosphere while the sea waves before you, the Golden Gate Bridge to your right and the San Francisco sky line to your right. Great rooms, food, drink and staff too. Plus Sausalito is a lovely town and Sushi Ran wasn't recommended for nothing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the house for a lounge with window seats overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VR747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments!

Please do come visit us at Cavallo Point again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was put into Cavallo Point for a work trip--I LOVED the huge suite, with two fireplaces, in old Victorian officers' housing. The location is extraordinary, almost at the foot of the Golden Gate bridge. The spa is beautiful (I didn't get a massage, but overheard happy others who had). Everything just felt special--from sheets to views.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What an amazing property. The resort/property is very beautiful and peaceful. It's a nice contrast after visiting downtown SF.

We stayed in an upper level 2 bedroom historic suite. The views from everywhere on the property are stunning. The Golden Gate Bridge is mesmerizing. Our suite looked out over the SF skyline from the front rooms. It was bright, decently decorated, and very clean but there was only one bathroom and towels here are meagerly rationed by housekeeping! Also, be warned that the 2 bedroom suites are at the top of barracks and there are A LOT of stairs to climb.

The restaurant and bar are fantastic. Don't miss Murray Circle for dinner. My only critique would be that there is no casual breakfast option. The staff was very nice, but service for the hotel rooms/check-in was inconsistent. We were there on a package and the details for the package amenities seemed to confound the staff.

Sausalito is a good bike ride or a cab ride away. We found out when we arrived that the hotel no longer provides shuttle service to Sausalito (the closest Ferry site) or SF, as advertised on the website. The hotel did offer to reimburse the costs since it was a recent change of policy. The cab ride into the city (Fisherman's Wharf) costs approximately the same as the cab fare to Sausalito + ferry fare, so we cabbed into SF in the am and took the ferry back to Sausalito at sunset (gorgeous). There are several excellent restaurants in Sausalito for dinner. We really enjoyed the Cavallo Point!

Room Tip: The resort's rooms are spread out in separate buildings around the property. The restaurant, mercantile, and front-desk are centrally located. The walk to and from are far less burdensome than the hike up and down the stairs to get to the 2 bedroom suites!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your compliments, as well as your concerns.

In regards to transportation service, our shuttle runs on Wednesday-Sundays. On days when the shuttle is either unavailable or fully booked, we are more than happy to assist in securing taxis for our guests' convenience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Cavallo Point is a beautiful hidden gem. Located on the Previous "Fort Baker" property at the foot of the bay.From the moment you arrive you are transported to another world with the most spectacular views of San Francisco. Park your car and forget about it, you walk about 600 hundred yards and can catch a ferry for a day trip to SF. When you come back the rooms are wonderful, we had a modern suite above the older section, it is like a small apartment, very modern and well appointed. The spa located on property is second to none, even if you can't book a treatment the steam, sauna and pool are free to guests, use them! The onsite restaurant is great. This is a true destination resort, weddings and special events are what this is all about, not a place for singles. The view of the Golden Gate Bridge at night looming above cannot be belived until you actually see it, that alone is worth the price of admission!

Room Tip: The historical rooms are very romantic but the modern suites with their fabulous views and patios are the equal of anywhere in the world!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review-you've captured the charm and highlights of our Lodge perfectly!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews