We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat”
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a fantastic place! Just at the bottom of the Golden Gate Bridge and in fabulous wildlife sanctuary. I returned to my hotel room one night to be greeted by 3 deer on the doorstep! The rooms are amazing - I stayed in one of the contemporary rooms. They are further up the hill but you can ask for a lift in a golf-style cart. But it only takes about 5 mins to walk to reception downhill - back uphill is only for the fitter! Food at the restaurant was wonderful - absolutely cannot fault this hotel - would definitely return. Ideal for a get-away weekend break. Only drawback is that the room walls are a little thin - I could hear quite a lot of what my neighbours were up to...

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearer to reception if you have any difficulty with walking although the buggies w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank short_scuba_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Please do come and visit us again at Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here one night for a wedding this past July. It was gorgeous, the rooms were great- loved the fireplace and balcony in each room, and the staff were very accommodating. Very adorable place to stay for couples, as the hotel is relatively secluded, with great views and nature walks if you are into that sort of thing. It's definitely pricey, but well worth it if you're looking for an upscale but friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind post and endorsement!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I had the wedding of our dreams at Cavallo Point. Our entire experience with the resort was ideal. We began working with Jessica Winthrop--Cavallo Point's wedding/catering coordinator--nine months ago, and could tell we were in good hands from the beginning. Jessica was friendly, calming, experienced and effective, and went above and beyond to answer all of our questions along the way, give us options, and fulfill every detail we envisioned. In fact, every staff member we encountered during our stay was outstanding. Our guests absolutely loved staying at Cavallo Point and raved about the location, food, rooms and service. Though Cavallo Point is a beautiful place in any weather, we were blessed with warm sunshine and clear skies, ie. amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge! We admit it was hard to leave Cavallo Point after the festivities were over, but we'll be back as often as we can! Thank you, Cavallo Point!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for your wonderful post! We are ecastatic to hear that your wedding went off without a hitch and so pleased to be your venue of choice for this special day.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love Cavallo Point. Quiet, serene. the historic rooms are such fun, large, clean, and make you feel like you are living in a home. for a second, you can pretend that it's yours! Eating breakfast on the porch of the main house, looking at the GG bridge, eating Stauss Farms yogurt with homemade granola, come on. We've already booked our next trip back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlmakare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post and for already booking your next stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a treat! We love National Park Lodges and while this is associated, there is no comparison. Everything was wonderful. There is really no better view of the breathtaking GG Bridge than we had from our contemporary suite. They are decorated with European sensibilities and perfectly delightful. Everyone goes out of his or her way to make you feel important. Little touches like wine and bread and cheese at reception in the evening and croissants and coffee in the morning are nice extras, though sitting on the heated porches for aperitifs and breakfast should not be missed.

I took a guided hike one morning and there are vast miles of trails reachable on foot from Cavallo Point. It's also super easy to go up and walk or run the bridge from the property. I wish I had known that bikes could be rented there, but did not find out til our last day. Biking is very simple into Sausalito and around the whole area. Definitely take the ferry from Sausalito to SF and back! Great views and simple. I also took the van into Union Square. Also easy. Ad while most Cavallo Point guests will think "taxi" rather than "bus", there are cheap buses back to Sausalito. Just get the 511 app for all the SF transport options.

If you dine some at Cavallo Point, but want to try a spot nearby too, check out The Plate Shop in Sausalito. Yum.

I hope we will go back! I will be recommending this place to many... A calm retreat with the city right there!

Room Tip: If you want a bridge view, ask for one. I'm sure the historical rooms are great too, but they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2acornsOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments! Our staff will be ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely stay.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Cavallo Point!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in Room 1803, King Deluxe, with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge; and it was spectacular! Of course, it didn't hurt that we had sunshine for 90% of our visit. If you're in awe of the bridge, it's a very special feeling to see it right out your bedroom window. Our room also had a sitting area and a large bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Note that for many of the rooms you cannot take your car to the room. The hotel staff will shuttle you back and forth. Our package was "The Ultimate Date Night" which included $100 toward dinner and $60 for breakfast, plus valet parking. There was a wedding our first night, and I can understand why a person would choose this venue (although probably very pricey). It's a great place for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we appreciate your sharing your last stay experience at Cavallo Point with the TripAdvisor community.

Please do visit us again, as we would be very pleased to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This "lodge" is located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge with breathtaking views. Far enough from the City to be restful but near enough for access. We occupied a suite which I would highly recommend for its space, comfort and position. We had a separate living area and a patio with seating/table outside facing the GG bridge. The hotel restaurant is lovely if a bit pricey so not something you would want to do each evening, but Farley's bar provided a good alternative. Food was excellent, beers and wines varied and extensive with superb service. The spa provides a welcome relaxation. The shuttle bus is useful but doesn't operate after 5pm, so be prepared to pay for taxi's in the evening if you want to go offsite, as even Sausilto isn't close enough to walk both ways. We felt very well looked after and extremely relaxed after our break and I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Golden Gate views are a must from the room, if you enjoy walking Sausilto is a lovely 30min walk, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durhamiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review! Our staff will be very pleased to hear of your kind compliments and I will be certain to share your post with them.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,521 reviews
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,487 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range: $461 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing