We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolls and Teriyaki”

Masu Japanese Bistro
Ranked #32 of 70 Restaurants in Saratoga
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rolls and Teriyaki”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Masu is a very good japanese restaurant for quick sushi and rolls. They have all types of rolls made for all palates. The food is good quality. Its a great place for a quick lunch or dinner. There are a variety of basic cooked foods as well. The sushi chefs are willing to make you any time of roll including rolls with cream cheese, nuts, etc. Its very California Japanese.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShahramG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in the sun”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We ate here for lunch, and chose to eat outside. The Masu Lunch and the Bento Box were both delicious, and good value for money. The sashimi was extremely fresh. The service was friendly and efficient.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“My favorite lunch”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I frequent Masu for lunch as I work at Montalvo Arts Center. Their bento box combination is my favorite. Most of my friends order the sushi, which is freshly made to order. The pricing at lunch is incredible and I usually take some home for dinner.
The staff is friendly and very attentive and the line of sushi
chefs is top notch. A real gem for Silicon Valley and a neighborhood favorite in Saratoga. Thank you Masu!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKDECO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Our sushi place of choice in a crowded field!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pluses:
- lunch deal of choice of two rolls for essentially half the normal price is unbeatable, given the consistently excellent quality
- fish is unusually fresh, gotten from a special purveyor. Hamachi yellowtail is sometimes Tokyo quality
- very pleasant wood ambience in quaint Saratoga Vilage, with outdoor seating in a garden courtyard
- the $25 combination bento box is enormous and very high quality...will feed two for lunch
- very welcoming staff
Minuses:
- one of the waitresses is young and inexperienced

Of all the many sushi places within 15 minutes drive of Saratoga, Los Gatos, or Cupertino, this is our favorite choice because of the combination of fresh quality sushi, reasonable price, warm and welcoming ambience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masu Japanese Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Masu Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing