We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably SLOW service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Saratoga

Bella Saratoga
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Saratoga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Saratoga Sunnyvale Rd.
Los Gatos, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievably SLOW service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been to this restaurant many times in the past and was terribly disappointed with the service (or lack there of) we encountered last Saturday. We did not have a reservation but this was not a problem as we arrived early (around 5:40) and there were plenty of seats. The hostess insisted we eat inside (even though more than 1/2 of the tables outside were free). I did not push the issue as we needed to get out within an hour to see a show.

My husband went back to the car (a 2 minute round trip) and the waiter who came to tell about the specials said he would return. Well my husband returned and we were served bread and water and proceeded to wait 15 minutes for our waiter to re-appear. He took our order and after 20 minutes of waiting we finally caught another waiter to check on our order. Our waiter apologized and said it would be right out and it was! The food was excellent BUT as it turns out our waiter was also doubling as one of the bar tenders AND was waiting tables outside.

So while the food may be nice the service absolutely sucked and we will not go back again unless we are looking for a long dining experience......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive servers, great old house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Can be very busy so reservations make sense if you're going at a busy time of the day.

Outside dining is nice though it can be noisy at commute times from cars and those horrible noisy motorcycles.

I usually choose to eat in the front room of the house that houses the restaurant.

A nice quite place to carry on a conversation usually.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelerzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Went on a Friday evening in September and had an outside table. Inside was dark and chilled by the a/c so we opted to enjoy the patio while the summer weather allowed. Our cocktails were ordered and brought to us quickly. (They have brandied cherries for you Manhattan drinkers. I know that matters.) The menu provided many intriguing choices, food was tasty and the service throughout the evening was very professional. Napkins are folded while away from the table. Who can't appreciate a well trained wait staff? There was live acoustical guitar playing and not too loudly to interfere with conversation. This is a perfect choice for a casual and romantic dinner out. Definitely going back. Kudos again to the waiter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ct_4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been here on many occasions for lunch and it is always excellent - service, food, and value. Try the chicken almond croissant - very good. Nice outside dinning area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the experience I was hoping for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We were in Saratoga for a Jim Gaffigan concert and made reservations for dinner before the show. Our party of four was seated immediately, but on the inside. Strike one since we had a reservation. We explained to the waiter that we needed to leave at certain time to make the show. We ordered everything immediately and were told "no problem". Our food took much longer than expected, and we grew concerned about time. We asked the waiter for our check and he said "no, I want you to enjoy your meal". The food was just average and the service slow. We made our show on time, but I think the experience and the food left something to be desired.

Helpful?
Thank Jeep63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Saratoga also viewed

 

Been to Bella Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing