We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Basin

The Basin
Reserve with OpenTable
The Basin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th Street
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food is great, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We ordered the following for dinner:
Truffle fries
Organic beet
Exotic mushroom rigatoni
Trout filet
Basin bread pudding

They're all excellent. The two main courses are a bit pricey. They serve a good amount on the fries, maybe too much considering people coming here are more for quality, not quantity. The pudding is also fairly large. I would prefer they charge less and only serve half of the amount.

It was a Monday night so it was not very busy, but the services from the servers were not great. Since the food is very good, I would think a great service should be there to go with it.

Helpful?
Thank y2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting menu, great food, service a little slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived a bit early (ok, 30 mins) hoping to just sit at the bar nadhave a drink first. there was a table available, so they sat us right away. This was great, except it took about 10 mins for our server to even acknowledge we were there. The service did improve throughout the evening, so that was ok.

The menu is fairly eclectic, including some interesting items, like "pork and clams." Pork and clams?? Guess what...? It was fantastic. You just have to try it. My wife's Halibut was equally well prepared and tasty. The wine selection was reasonable, though we just ordered from the glass.

It is quite busy, and a favorite with locals, which is always a good sign.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Los_Altos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't go past this place if your a foodie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrivedl late - about 9.30pm - on a weeknight so it was very quiet both inside and out. Even so, we were given great service and never felt pressured to leave. We sat outside in the courtyard and it was very tranquil with a view of the stars and the trees surrounding us. It helped that the heater was on overhead to keep the chill away. The waiter was attentive but not lurking and he made some excellent suggestions regarding both the food options and wine. We shared a number of small plates and everything was cooked to perfection, well presented and obviously freshly made from high quality ingredients. They seem to have something for everyone and I can't see how anyone would be disappointed with either the selection or the quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant Server”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've enjoyed dining at The Basin many times in the past but service tonight was an experience not soon to be forgotten. Our party of 8 was subjected to the most arrogant waiter I have ever encountered in my 40 years of adult dining experience. From the moment we sat down, for whatever reason, this young man determined we were not to his liking. His condescending attitude from the get-go colored what should have been an enjoyable evening out for fine dining. I am sorry to say I sincerely hesitate to return to The Basin ever again as we attempted to get feedback from the manager/co-owner upon our departure but he was hesitant to engage in much of a conversation. Something is strangely amiss here, sad to say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Noisy, overpriced but excellent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Some of the small dishes were quite good although the gumbo doesn't taste very authentic. The most disappointing were the two entrees we chose: the liver and onion was overcooked and the liver most certainly does not taste like calf liver. We brought it to the attention of the waiter and he offered to give us free desserts. So can't complain about the service which in any case was very attentive without being intruding. The other entree we had was truffles and risotto, a "special" that is overpriced at $34. It is basically rice and peas with very little truffles. I noticed it's not on their regular menu so maybe we should have chosen something more regular instead. And of course the noise in the place means we can barely hear ourselves.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rarecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basin also viewed

 

Been to The Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing