We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place really is that good”
Review of Hachi Ju Hachi

Hachi Ju Hachi
Ranked #55 of 70 Restaurants in Saratoga
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place really is that good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I lived in Kansai (Western Japan) for nearly a decade. My wife is from Kyoto. This place really is that good. It's special; and for what you get, very reasonably priced.

Hachijuhachi provides the kind of food you can only find in Western Japan. For those very familiar with Western Japanese food, and can't find it stateside, you'll be very, very happy you came here. For those who like Japanese food, and want to try new dishes, there is no better place. And for those who just want to try something new, this is the place.

Hachijuhachi really is that good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 741DanA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Excellent Japanese Cuisine”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Creative, authentic, well executed food, by a master craftsman of a chef.
One of the better places I've been to in the bay area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NathanielTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Cuisine Kansai-style”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is real Japanese food prepared by a real Japanese Chef.
Healthy food with great taste.
The price may seem a little high, but I am happy to pay for GOOD FOOD. The chef does not compromise in the material selection nor in preparation.
Good selection of Sake, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super Terrific Happy Dinner”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The food was awesome. So much more than teriyaki, bento boxes, and sushi. We had spicy cuttle fish, broiled mackerel, grilled pork belly, chawan mushi, agedashi tofu/eggplant/daikon, and eel box sushi. Everything was delicious and beautifully presented. Staff was super friendly. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Ten all-time dinners”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Having eaten at the top restaurants around the world, the food presented to our party of 7 ranks among the top meals I have ever tasted. I have had many meals with fancier platings in fancier surrounds, but the looks don't add up to anything if the quality of the food isn't top notch. The food is what is key to this chef.

We ate many appetizers and many of the entree dishes listed on the menu along with a number of items off menu. Everyone passed plates around so that all could share.

I am unfortunately living 3,000 miles away from this restaurant or I would be back weekly. Wish I could as I would really like to order everything the menu and the chef offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hachi Ju Hachi also viewed

 

Been to Hachi Ju Hachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing