We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Relaxing Experience We Were Looking For...”

The Mountain Winery
Ranked #1 of 6 Food & Drink in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the Relaxing Experience We Were Looking For...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We started our day of wine tasting at The Mountain Winery. We picnicked up above the amphitheater while a live band played below. It was lovely. Then our group proceeded down to the wine tasting patio where we were told we had to purchase our tastes inside. Inside consisted of loud 80's music, a dimly lit room during the middle of a beautiful day, and a line of at least 10 people to get to one tiny bar to taste. When we made it to the front we were confusingly told about the multiple tasting options and prices, when the manager/owner came in front of the bar and yelled that he would explain it all to us. This was after her had yelled that people should just get a glass or a bottle so we didn't have to wait...ummm, we're here to 'taste' your wine. It was pushy and overwhelming. We all felt uncomfortable and decided to not spend the 10 or 20 bucks each to taste in a strange environment. Why couldn't the guy working at the empty bar on the nice patio take our money and serve our tasting? As we were walking up the stairs, Jesse the manager ran after us and told us he didn't like to see people leave and gave us a pass to come back for free. We didn't that day, but maybe we'll give it another chance in the future. It is a gorgeous setting, but instead of having a relaxing wine-tasting environment, they have a business where they're trying to upsell you at every turn, from food to bigger tastings to glasses and bottles in a strange nightclub vibe during the day. Hopefully I'll be able to update with a better experience in the future. It would be lovely to taste calmly with no yelling or blaring music:)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank wheressarawaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    59
    15
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Marvellous Venue for Concerts Wine Tasting & Other Events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is very difficult to imagine such a romantic picturesque venue for concerts and wine tasting in the of season.
Located in the foothills of the Santa Cruz Mountains above Saratoga. The view of the Santa Clara Valley (Silicon Valley) is very dramatic. Although the beverage and food prices on concert evenings are quite pricy the location is unique.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Concert venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Saw a concert here - cool venue but a long drive from the bay. It was really fun sitting outside though under the stars listening to music. Pretty good beer and wine selection, but overpriced. Cool set-up for the seats and stage and stuff - you feel close and intimate.

Helpful?
1 Thank Orange_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Concert Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The winery has been completely redone and is absolutely fantastic! There is not a bad seat in the house the the acoustics are great!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hiredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food servers, and the Music was outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went to the Mountain Winery this past weekend, and wow! Had an excellent time! I took a chance and attended a live concert in their Grand Hall with Noel Catura and his Rhythmic Jazz-Funk Fusion Band. The a la carte brunch was scheduled to start at 10 and go to 3pm, but music did not actually start until nearly 11am. However, over the next two hours, the room filled up and became packed. Food was ok, nothing special or out of the way, but the scheduled musician was amazing, and the food servers were attentive and energetic. This became a truly wonderful Sunday brunch. We had a delightful server named Tiffany Ree, and she was wonderful! We asked for a desert menu, and she apologetically said there was no desert menu for a brunch, but later, she brought a plate of mini muffins for us to nosh on for our desert. Lovely service! She always came around with fresh steaming coffee right as we needed a refill. Parking there was fine, although you will have to walk about the length of a city block to get to the actual facilities. Handicap accessible. If you go early (or right at the scheduled start time), you get your choice of table, so go early, and watch the set up!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mountain Winery also viewed

 

Been to The Mountain Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing