We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit...”

Ristorante Da Mario
Ranked #53 of 68 Restaurants in Saratoga
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd street
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“First time visit...”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were attending the Annual Wine Stroll in Saratoga this year and was pro-acitve on making up dinner reservations after the the Stroll. We had stopped by earlier in the day to see if it was possible to sit outside, they said yes! We ended up showing up a bit earlier than our reservation but they seated us immediately. We started out with cesar salad, which their dressing was amazing! We then had the Avocado Tonnato which was very good also. My husband had the Pennette alla Vodka and I had the cornish game hen, which was one of their specials of the evening. We were both very happy with our meals. I guess if I had to complain, it would of been nice if the portions were a bit more. I think under normal circumstances the portions would be been fine, but with Wine tasting all day and not really eating. I was famished! We ended the evening with Cannoli Siciliani and Tiramisu`, they were wonderful! They have a great menu with many options. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcjetskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuscan Atmosphere, Fun Staff, Good food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Our family had a lovely Friday evening meal. Pianist was a talent. Waiter was enjoyable. The food is delicious but for the price the portions are quite small. The 6 of us left the table not quite satisfied. They also charge $3 for an additional basket of bread which downgrades the value of the meal even more.

Helpful?
Thank Danake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“One of the better small restaurants around”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The food ranges from good to excellent, mostly in the very good range. The prices are reasonable, and the staff is very friendly. An excellent choice for date-night, or a family gathering.

Keep in mind that it is a small restaurant. It's more intimate, you can easily ask for changes to the menu, and they are highly motivated to ensure you have a wonderful evening. Of course, there are limits. If you wish to dine there, get a reservation. Unlike some restaurants where I've had a reservation and still had to wait up to an hour to be seated, they have never treated me that way. It's also "old world Italian". They expect you will be spending the evening there (not just 45 minutes). An extra table for two might be found from time to time, but a larger walk-in party will probably be turned away on a busy evening. They honor their reservations. You can't have it both ways.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than "average", not quite "very good"”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A tough choice between a 3 and a 4 -- I'll be nice and round upwards. Food was good, but nothing special for Italian cuisine - the sauces were fresh, but very ordinary flavors. Service was good after the food arrived at the table, but had been a bit spotty when we were ordering. The appetizers (which were the highlight of the dinner) were definitely more imaginative than the main courses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclectic80498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“in saratoga”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have been going to da Mario since they opened.
They have the best Gniocchi with gorgonzola sauce in the south bay.
Service can be spotty, particularly when they get busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbtraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Mario also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Da Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing