We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Another great stay at Saratoga Oaks. We have been here three or four times now and this last stay was the best. We stayed in one of the tree top rooms (as I call them) and what a great room. You feel just like you are staying in a tree house, the hosts are just great. The only place we will stay in the San Jose area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vickinbobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

We arrived in Saratoga for a concert at the Mountain Winery and chose the Saratoga Oaks Lodge mainly because of its close proximity to the concert venue. We were very delighted with our choice.
We stayed in the Tree House Suite which was very nicely appointed with king size sleigh bed, coffee maker, small sub zero fridge, microwave, surround sound stereo, dvd player,vhs video player and a small dining table with two chairs.
The bath had a large steam shower that was very nice. There is also a mid size deck with table and two chairs from which to enjoy their waterfall just outside the room.
The front desk staff were very nice and we must thank them for their wonderful suggestion to eat at Little Amsterdam for breakfast, it was really great.
The room was reasonbly large and clean. As a comparison we stayed at the Cypress Inn three months before this and I must say that this hotel was head and shoulders above the Cypress. If you enjoy the corporate hotel then stay at the Cypress but if you enjoy staying somewhere with alot more charm choose the Saratoga Oaks Lodge.
Don't miss the Cinnabar Tasting room next door and say hello to Ken and Malcolm.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

On a scale of 1-10, this room was an 8 for its cost level. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice furnishings in our room. The room, lobby, and surrounding area was clean and the lodge is located on a small through street with lovely little upscale shops, boutiques and restaurants. Both the lodge and the surrounding merchants make a special effort to keep the landscape lovely and it makes for a pleasant walk. Our room had a huge king bed with beautiful bedding. It was quiet too! We chose this location because of it's proximity to the Paul Masson Winery entertainment venue where we attended a concert. It was very convenient. Everything was topped off by better-than-usual pastries and breakfast foods the morning of check-out. We would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank SierraSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I was in Saratoga on business and found this property to be lovely. For business or leisure it's ideally located steps away from wonderful dinning and, for wine enthusiasts, perfectly situated to enjoy wine tasting at many fine Santa Cruz mountain wineries close by. My experience with the Inn Keepers was completely different than some have characterized here - I found them to be friendly, pleasant, and helpful. There are single rooms, which have been nicely upgraded, and suites. The property is nestled among large, old, oak trees and peaceful. The continental breakfast is generous, with locally fresh baked pastries and Peet's coffee. I would certainly stay there again - and plan to.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Vega_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We had many family members book this hotel due to a wedding nearby. We had asked for a room large enough for a bridal party to get ready and were not provided with an adequate room on our arrival. We asked manangement upon check-in for a larger room and they did nothing more than change it to a room with a king bed. We found out the next morning that a large suite had been available the whole time and had to switch rooms. While the bridal party was getting ready we received numerous interruptions from management, telling us not to use their towels for our hair and makeup, wondering where a family member that had checked out was because their car was still there, etc. They did nothing to make the experience of preparing for a wedding more enjoyable-unless you need some laughs at how truly rude people can be, do not stay at this hotel. I am sure their are better options in the area. The suites on the hill are nice, the older rooms are filthy. The room they gave the bride had filthy carpet, and we had to switch one room totally because the carpet stuck to our feet. Do yourself a favor and don't stay!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank trayandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

What a lovely sylvan setting for this pleasantly furnished upscale motel, right on the main restaurant and shopping street of cute-as-expensive-pie Saratoga.

Unfortunately, the surrounding woodland seems to be haunted by trolls as the hosts are as short on charm as it's possible to be whilst still remaining in business.

Every friendly overture or polite request was met with a gruff rebuttal - even simple things like real milk rather than vanilla-flavoured artificial creamer for the hot tea provided with the admittedly generous breakfast of juices, pastries, bagels and fresh fruit.

We arrived midweek, off-season and in the evening at close to closing time - but the stern faced woman at the desk was completely unwilling to discuss any discount or variation of the posted rates - which she was actually re-pricing by hand as we watched her, using white-out on the printed tariffs.

It's such a tragedy that someone who enjoys hotel keeping doesn't run this place, as the rooms are lovely - nice windows with modern colonial shutters, very comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms with granite counters. Pity they match the granite faces at reception.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank blowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2006

Be careful if you go here. We reserved with aaa and the management had our reservation, but denied having "the price sent over by aaa." They wanted to charge us well over what we reserved. Luckily, we had our original print out from aaa and they couldn't argue with that for too long. Then they told us that we should reserve directly with them because we can get a lower rate and that they surcharge for outside agencies!

Rooms are OK. Location is OK. Management is not OK. They lied to us about the rate and tried really hard to cheat us. They were rude about it too. So disappointing to see hotel management/owners behave in this manner . . .

Side note: The "breakfast" that is included is really terrible.

This place is terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Trista411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saratoga
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
3.7 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,166 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn Of Los Gatos
4.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
235 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saratoga Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Oaks Lodge

Address: 14626 Big Basin Way, Saratoga, CA 95070-6041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Saratoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Price Range: $217 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saratoga Oaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned and operated motel - since 1955. On the main street of the Saratoga village, between Fifth Street and Sixth Street, we are in the quiet part of town, just a two minute stroll to the center of Saratoga Village where you'll find a variety of restaurants and unique shops. Closeby are the Hakone Japanese Garden, the Mountain Winery, Montalvo and Saratoga wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Saratoga Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Oaks Hotel Saratoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing