We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inn at Saratogy--Buyer Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Saratoga
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Inn at Saratogy--Buyer Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2005

We were given room 309, which we would advise anyone to avoid if possible. It is very noisy, with a loud hum and strong vibrations coming from the wall behind the televsion. Other considerations, however, are more important. In ascending order of importance: there was no dust ruffle on the bed, so box springs and mattress were exposed--at the price one would expect more; the room was very dusty and the floor was dirty; the tile in the bathroom was black in the shower; the toilet had been used and not flushed; the bed had two bugs between the sheets. We received a note of apology and a bottle of the wine. We also asked for and received a different room. This was clean, though in need of refurbishing. We loved the location and the creek outside the window, but we would advise anyone checking in to look carefully at the room before being charmed by the surroundings.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
61
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2005

Excellent boutique hotel. Great location, well appointed rooms and friendly staff. We loved the view into the park from our room and the afternoon wine and snacks was a really nice touch. We only stayed one night, but would have gladly stayed more if not for our reservation with one of the chain hotels, which was disappointing compared to this one. The proximity to the Mountain Winery is perfect for concert goers.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area california
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2005

We stayed at the Inn for our first wedding anniversary and it was wonderful! The suite was spacious and well decorated. The view of the creek was terrific and soothing. We had dinner at La Fondue and were able to just stroll across the street back to the inn. The huge jetted tub in the suite was relaxing and seated two. The inn even brought us a bottle of champagne upon arrival! .. Great time, great inn, will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2004

Beautiful large rooms. Big picture windows and balcony overlooking a creek. Great location in the middle of a beautiful town. Breakfast was good, tables outside on patio next to the creek.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2004

A lovely place, quiet and relaxing. Breaksfast by the creek is a wonderful way to start a day. The staff is courteous and helpful, and the rooms are large and comfortable. We have stayed here twice, with consistent results.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2004

The Inn at Saratoga is kind of like the village of Saratoga itself: quiet, tucked away, and with a more or less laid back vibe. I was expecially impressed by the spaciousness of the rooms -- which include a lovely glassed in sitting area and a small but welcome balcony. There are also two sinks and, believe it or not, a reasonably priced mini bar!

IMHO, definitely request a creekside room -- and you'll be rewarded with a peaceful, woodsy view. There's a park with hiking trails right next door to the Inn.

The location is more or less halfway between Montalvo and the Mountain Winery -- so if you're seeing a performance at either of those spots this is a good place to stay. As of mid-July 2004, there is also a new free shuttle running from the village itself to Montalvo which you can get passes for from the Inn or a participating restaurant (ask for details, I am NOT talking about the normal shuttle from the West Valley college parking lots...). It worked very well for me.

As a downside, the provided Continental breakfast was a small disappointment: they had a bit of everything, but not the specific types of cereal, pastry etc that I like. I dunno: it was just "off" for me. Also, the front desk service can be neurotic: sometimes they have it together, and sometimes they definitely do not but pretend that they do. Don't take it personally or let it get in the way of staying there: it's just their little thing. :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank tonymoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2004

I stayed at this place a few years ago. It was probably fairly new then. It was very nice. It is easy to get to. The area was quiet and nearby restaurants wer good. The room itself was good sized and the furnishings were attractive. The complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary wine & hor doerves were both more substantial than I expected. I don't know if they do this anymore, but at the time I stayed there, they turned down your bed covers and put a little candy thing on the pillow. I would definitely go back there if I have the opportunity.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saratoga
0.2 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos
Hotel Los Gatos
#2 of 6 in Los Gatos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn Of Los Gatos
5.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#3 of 9 in Campbell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Saratoga

Property: The Inn at Saratoga
Address: 20645 4th St, Saratoga, CA 95070-5867
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Saratoga
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Saratoga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not long after The Inn at Saratoga opened its doors, the renowned travel writer, Horace Sutton, declared it to be "one of the splendid small inns in the nation." We invite you to stay with us and learn why today his judgment is truer than ever.Exceptional features of The Inn at Saratoga are extensive. Private guest room balconies afford wonderful views and the sound of running water from a spring fed creek. No other hotel in Silicon Valley offers comparable views and such a pristine natural environment. Rooms are unusually large (400 sq. ft. and above vs. 300 sq. ft. or less at hotels in neighboring cities) with floor-to-ceiling French windows overlooking a creek, a park, and mountain scenery. All rooms include complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, two-line telephones, bathroom telephones, irons and ironing boards, refrigerators, honor bar beverages, delivery of complimentary daily newspaper, 47" HD flat screen televisions, iHome radios for recharging mobile phones and tablets, combo DVD-VCR players, and borrowing privileges from our movie library.Room service is available and complimentary continental breakfast includes a variety of fruits, cereals, juices, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, decaf, tea, and several types of fruit juices. Complimentary wine, tea, and appetizers are served each afternoon.The Inn is located in the heart of historic Saratoga Village near more than 20 restaurants, some only 50 yards away. The Inn is the closest hotel to the Mountain Winery Concert series, Villa Montalvo, Hakone Gardens, wine tasting, hiking, and horseback riding. Silicon Valley companies are as close as 5 to 20 minutes away in the cities of Los Gatos, Cupertino, Campbell, and San Jose.The Inn is a smoke-free establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saratoga Hotel Saratoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing