We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY friendly staff, helpful and accomodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Santee Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santee
Buellton, Calif.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“VERY friendly staff, helpful and accomodating!”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

After reading these reviews, I probably would not have stayed here so I'm glad I forgot to look it up! We had two rooms for our family, one smoking and one non, and they were both clean and acceptable. The STAFF is what made this place special for us. We arrived in the morning after a four hour drive with a two year old, and hoped we could get into just ONE room, to get ready for birthday party we were attending. We were graciously offered BOTH rooms early! Not only that, but each staff person that we saw or passed on the grounds were very friendly, always asking if we needed anything and happy to help us out with little things. I will stay there again, no problem!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just...d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
94
26
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Needed an inexpensive hotel in Santee because it is one of the last cities in the state that still operates a drive-in theater and my teenage son had been bugging me to one so he could experience it.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, had a little microwave and mini fridge in it. Two doors down, virtually in the same parking lot, was a convenience store which could come in handy if you were staying longer I suppose. They had not only drink but food vending machines. They serve a continental breakfast in the mornings that surpasses most places I've stayed at the offer the same thing. In addition to the regular juices, coffee, pastries and muffins, the had a variety of cereals both hot and cold, milk, bagels with cream cheese, assorted breads for toast, fresh fruit, boiled eggs and an Belgium waffle maker with all the fixings. The hotel is also in a good location close to many restaurants including Sonic.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabloDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We cannot believe Best Western allows their name to be used on this motel. Worst experience ever. Local teens/young adults allowed to rent suite room next to ours and loudly party with a large group late into the night. Since it was a non-smoking suite the party stood on the balcony in front of our window to smoke and talk loudly. Not much cooperation from staff except that they would move us. We declined since we would be staying there for 4 nights. After finally getting nasty, they relocated the party group.

Motel was close to shopping and good restaurants about 5 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebonnet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I grew up in a town of about 25000 people. This hotel reminded me of the ones there. We actually lived in Santee for about a year before moving and this is not the place to stay. The bed sheets had stains on them and the wi-fi was weak. It was smallish and dingy and the beds are hard. Run like a Mom & pop but without the friendliness.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnorlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2009

POOR SERVICE AND LOUSY ATTITUDE ABOUT IT!!!!
Called day of check in to date they we would be arriving late and confirmed that we were booked into king room. Arrived at 10:30 pm to find we had been bumped to two queens. Were told by clerk it was done because of convention. Manager Pete told us he had no clue and did not offer any apology for our inconvenience.
We were moved to a king room the next day that shared a wall with the office. At four in the morning on our two remaining nights, we were woken each night up by 20 minutes by loud noises coming from office that sounded like ice machine being dumped. Come to find out, they were setting up the free breakfast which led to more noise when people came to eat.
The clerk who checked us in looked like he had worn his shirt for over a week and had spent that week cleaning his mother's attic.
We had to call front desk for extra pillows and no one answered the phone. Went to the office and had to ring bell over eight times before someone came to door.
Exceptionally poor service and uncaring about quality of guests stay.
BEST WESTERN HAVE YOU SEEN THESE COMMENTS--ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT YOUR NAME ON THIS HOTEL???? NEVER HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE WITH ONE YOUR YOUR CHAINS UNTIL THIS ONE.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITALIANLEO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband, 4 year old son, 1 year old daughter and I came down to Santee for my sister's wedding. We booked a room at the Best Western Santee Lodge because it was very close to the wedding location at Santee Lakes park. We paid for a non smoking room with double beds. We were assigned room #200 and the host guaranteed us that it was a non-smoking room. Upon entering the room we were almost knocked over by the stench of cigarette smoke and some weird type of fragrance used possibly to mask the smoke smell. I called down to the lobby and explained to them that we had paid for a non-smoking room and that although there was a non-smoking sign on the door, this was quite obviously not a smoke free room. I further communicated that I did not want my small children to stay in this environment. I was basically told by the staff that they did not have any other non-smoking rooms available and that they cannot actually control whether people smoke in the room or not. I was also told that the cleaning crew replaces all linens in a non-smoking room if they believe someone has smoked inside that room. Since the time was around 9 PM my husband and I decided to stay just the one night and to find a different place to stay for the following night. BIG MISTAKE!!! I awoke in the morning and I could barely breathe. My hands and fingers were so swollen that my wedding ring was cutting into my ring finger and was very painful. Both of my eyes were sore and infected. My husband was also having trouble breathing so he decided that a shower would help. This was another mistake as when he went to dry off he found that the towels had not been replaced and were inundated with cigarette smoke. He ended up drying off with one of his clean T-shirts. My four year old son was also affected with a stuffy nose and a headache but luckily my toddler was fine (she slept in her portacrib.) Needless to say we booked out of there as fast as we could! I’m not exactly sure what in that room made us sick as there were two very questionable issues 1) the cigarette smoke and 2) a very large water stain on the ceiling, apparently the place had a bad leak at some point and there is the possibility of mold contamination. A couple other things worth mentioning, the bed in front of the TV was very old and broken down. It had two large sinkholes in it about 3-4 inches deep so we chose to sleep on the other bed which was quite a bit better. Also the carpet was nasty. I would usually let my daughter walk around in a hotel but I made her stay in the playpen here as the carpet was badly stained and had a look of grunge to it. The bathroom however was clean and there were no bed bugs, believe me I checked! My last complaint is that because I brought my new feather pillow with me to this hotel I am afraid it is now ruined. I have been trying for 3 days now to get the smell out of it. I have put it in the dryer on fluff with a dryer sheet and put it out in the sun for hours but the smell is still there. I am going to try and wash it and pray that it does not get ruined. I do not know what else to do as I cannot use it with that stench on it. I also had to wash all the clothes that were in our luggage twice to get the smell out.

  • Liked — When I got to see the place in my rear view mirror as I was speeding away!
  • Disliked — The absolute poor quality of the room & beds, smoke stench. Employees did not care at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DahliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

This place is not worth it and they should seriously consder hiring a maintenance/repair man. Our door was broken and the staff pretty much said "oh, that's too bad, we can't do anything about it". I asked if they were sold out...which they were not, so why could I not look at another room. I looked at another room and it was just as dissappointing. She said the first room I was in was a good one and I should take it. It was very clear that the employees don't care and are not helpful or friendly. I would say keep driving and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The room and service
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jonsmithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
2.5 mi away
Carlton Oaks
Carlton Oaks
#2 of 3 in Santee
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Santee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Santee Lodge

Property: Best Western Santee Lodge
Address: 10726 Woodside Avenue, Santee, CA 92071-3143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Santee Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Santee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santee Hotel Santee
Santee Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing