We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"DISGUSTING!!!"”
Review of Carlton Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Oaks
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santee
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is by far one of the most disgusting, depressing, run down places we have ever stayed. Seriously in need of a major major facelift. Actually, a full demolition of the lodge rooms would be best. Very prison-like. Indoor/outdoor carpeting throughout the room was... gross. Teeny tiny bathroom. Free mold included. The beds were hard as a rock... the sheets were scratchy... pillows flat as pancakes. God only knows what a black light would find here. Note to file... "do not go barefoot in these rooms". No table or chairs in our room, so in order to relax, we had to sit up in our beds. Very uncomfortable. Wifi signal so weak it was unusable. Walls so thin we could hear our neighbors next door loud and clear. The view from our room was a run-down neighborhood with old rusted-out cars sitting in driveways. Mind you, I had originally booked a room with a golf course view, but when we checked in they said these rooms weren't available because they had a flood earlier in the week and were closed until the problem could be fixed. So, we ended up with the 'other' view (please see my attached picture). Service in the restaurant/bar sucks. Our room rate was $75. Really? For what? Let's just say that when our 1 night stay was over and we checked out, we ended up paying only $48. And I think even that was too much. 'Nuf said.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

Clean not-so-cheap, no-smoking room for a quick night to spend close to Gillespie Airport. I went there on a Saturday and it was as I was expecting: young people were partying outside (what could I expect from a Saturday night??) and therefore it was not as quite as I would have desired! Good reviews on trip advisor, some of them are a little bit too tight, but overall I agree with a "average" final rating. I would go there again...but only if I get it for 65$ or less!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagull2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Lodge at Carlton Oaks Country Club after a family event nearby. We booked last minute (booked Fri night, stayed Sat) and Carlton Oaks was had the only available non-smoking rooms. A word of warning - we booked through Orbitz, and the phone number for Carlton Oaks given on the Orbitz confirmation email actually belongs to a hotel in Kansas. Fortunately, I was able to use my smartphone to look up the real phone number and confirm. The man at the reservation desk was pleasant and polite, both on the phone and when we checked in. The room, while definitely out-dated, was scrupulously clean. The bed was a bit firm, and the pillows would probably be considered a bit flat by most people (I happen to like lower profile pillows, so the pillows here were my favorite hotel pillows in a long time.) The advertised free wifi signal was so faint as to be unusable. Since we mainly needed a cheap, clean place to stay, and I can tether my laptop to my cell phone, we were not particularly put out by the wifi situation. The hotel itself is pretty quiet, but whenever the guests in neighboring rooms turned on the shower or rolled their luggage down the walkway, we heard it. Fortunately, my husband and I are sound sleepers. Overall, Carlton Oaks provided exactly what we needed: a clean, cheap, non-smoking room. The polite staff and view of the golf course were a plus. If we ever need to stay overnight at a hotel in the Santee area again, we'll probably check Carlton Oaks first..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarie_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The location is in a neighborhood that can only be found by GPS or bread crumbs. There was an alledge security shack staffed by an imaginary guard. If you squinted your eyes you may have seen one or if you had a few cocktails you would see one for sure. My room was located in a separate wing in which I thought I was heading off to a prison block. The room had the enviroment of a 1970's adult movie ready to be filmed. The only thing that was missing was the music to accompany it. I couldn't seem to place any part of my body let alone my luggage on the bed. I loved the polyester bed cover. I would be affraid to see what a black light would discover. This could make a great episode of CSI. The bed was missing the magic fingers to make the bed more complete. The T.V. was so small that I could've used a set of binoculars to vew the T.V. The hotel did not even have internet. I would've been happy to use dial up. Thank god, I had a wireless card. The bathroom counter was large enough to be used as a slab in the county coroner's office. There was also a small refrigerator that was the size you could store a human head if you were a serial killer "Dexter". The bathroom had various stages of mold on the floor where you could've played some form of checkers. But, why risk placing any part of your body on the floor. The shower probably was used in the film "Psycho". I could've used a garden hose to get better results. Or, better yet, I should've just lather up and used the sprinkler system on the golf course. For a suggestion I would recommend using the drive through car wash for your bathing needs. Food you need to truck it in. I don't think Domino's can find this on the map. Send out the search party. If there is a decision to film another horror movie I would recommend this place for a great location. I forgot about the brick walls that create a memory of prison if you ever get to the big house.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richnanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Absolutely the worst experience in a hotel ever - and I stayed in some dumps back in my college days. Housekeeping quit early (11 am) one day, so our room was not cleaned. After we complained, they dropped off a bag filled with extra towels and some instant coffee at our door. Because there were pizza boxes that hadn't been removed from outside a neighboring room (again, no housekeeping service), we spent the night listening to animals root through the boxes and woke up to a disgusting disaster outside our room. VoIP phone seems like the only thing that has been done or added to this property in the last 20 years. I have to imagine having taken my family to stay in a hostel would have been a better idea.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biggirldaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The property is in need of updating, which the desk agent said is happening soon, but for the price it cannot be beat. The rooms are spotless and the view of the golf course is fantastic. If you're on a budget you will like the value and enjoy the scenery. We picked it because it is also near two casinos.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were basic but some do offer a view of the great golf course they have. I would stay here again. I'm glad I found this hidden gem in Santee. Who would of known??

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santee
2.5 mi away
Best Western Santee Lodge
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
5.5 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
830 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Oaks

Address: 9200 Inwood Dr, Santee, CA 92071-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santee
Price Range: $109 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Oaks is one of San Diego’s best kept secrets. Here you can enjoy the scenic views of our championship par 72 golf course. Our resort has a meandering creek as well as mature Cottonwood, Sycamore and Eucalyptus trees and a handful of lakes, making it a home to many types of wildlife including hawks, herons, egrets, and ducks. Whether, dining abound or wanting something close, the resort is just minutes from several elegant restaurants, while offering its own culinary delights and libations at the Oaks Bar and Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carlton Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Oaks Country Club San Diego Hotel Santee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing