We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Variety of food for locals & Touists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Grind

Valley Grind
Ranked #13 of 20 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Variety of food for locals & Touists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Variety of choices to eat & drink. Quiches we're excellent along with the coffee & large sized fresh smoothies. They had sandwiches, wonderful pumpkin cream cheese muffins, as well as other muffins & donuts. Their service was quick & the lady was friendly. Staff suggested what was their favorites on the menu when There so many delicious items to eat. Atmosphere was relaxing & welcoming. Very clean establishment! We'll stop by here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Grinds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This java house has wonderful, tasty coffee! Grab a cup and enjoy the atmosphere of this place before you stroll through town. Loved it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ByTheSeaByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Based on one experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I hate giving a review based on only one experience, and I qualify this based on the fact that I don't drink coffee. With that said, I went to Valley Grind to try their soup and a piece of quiche. While this may not be a big deal to other people, I was discouraged. The soup was reheated from a frozen soup (they admitted this fact), and the quiche is locally made by a production pie maker and reheated in a microwave or convection small oven. I was not impressed. I was also shocked that one of the servers was training a new person, and the trainer was wearing a button that said "THIS IS MY LAST DAY!" I thought it was very unprofessional. With that said, I think Valley Grind has been well received by many locals for their coffee which I did not try. I think it is a warm environment, but their staff needs to step up the experience from a human level a bit more. I also realize that most people don't go to a coffee shop for soup and quiche, but if they sell it, it should be tasty. It wasn't. I hope they improve this in the future.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruzincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Locals and Tourists Alike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What used to be the Roasted Bean is now under new ownership as Valley Grind. The changes made have been greatly appreciated in this community. Not only do they serve fresh fruit smoothies and great coffee but they have an assortment of other gourmet foods. The staff is friendly and can always recommend something delicious. I love going to a coffee house that is not staffed by teenagers that are more interested in their iphones than in taking my order. The owner is very hands on and her staff is attentive. I love the Valley Grind and think you will too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geezersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Handmade drinks and smoothies and a great place to relax. Wifi of course. Great location.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WilBagshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Grind also viewed

 

Been to Valley Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing