We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ForFriends Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Santa Ynez Inn(Santa Ynez)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corque(Solvang)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Landsby(Solvang)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamlet Inn(Solvang)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Solvang)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
231
7
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
7
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjim and debbiewine tastingfriendship passb bwine countryother guestshomemade breakfastoutstanding hostsguests feel at homehappy hour and breakfastthe main housebed and breakfastwonderful weekendgreat winerieslos olivosjacuzzi tubthe santa ynez valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 243 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

You do not want to miss this perfect B&B. Owners, Jim & Debby, with dog, Smitty, make your stay a home away from home experience. You may never want to leave. The beds are comfy and roomy with great baths, some with jacuzzi tubs topped off with a delicious cocktail hour and breakfast goodies. The best part is the truly personal and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loripArcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Sometimes we don't ever want folks to leave. That sure was the case when you four joined us this week. Can you come back tomorrow? Haha. . . No, seriously. . .

What a great time we all had laughing, sipping wine, noshing on Debbie's divine hors d'oeuvres and telling stories by the fire. It was like we had all known each other for years — and yet, we just met. ForFriends Inn is a magical place sometimes.

Next time you visit, we'll play more music. . . and drink more wine. So much to do and so little time.

Give our best to the rest of the gang.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

At the last minute I decided to take my guy for an overnight in the Santa Barbara wine country for his birthday. After checking out tripadvisor and the rave reviews, I thought that maybe the ForFriends owners had all their relatives writing in superlatives about the Inn. Well now I know they deserve all the the great reports. The room (The Californian)we had was charming and immaculate. Their website was easy to navigate and I booked with ease.
But best of all was the warm atmosphere provided by the owners. We enjoyed the wine and appetizers in the evening, but the music ,comaraderie and lovely common room made it special. The owners go out of their way to provide information on the area and have paired with several wineries for free tastings.We hope to return this summer for a longer stay. Oh yes, Smitty the dog is also a perfect Inn host.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We feel even more lucky that you found us

It was wonderful having you here this past weekend. It was a fun group and everyone was truly enjoying themselves. But how could they not? The Valley is such a special place.

Sometimes we pinch ourselves, feeling so lucky to have over 60 5-Star reviews on Trip Advisor. We absolutely love what we do and perhaps that shows in the experience everyone has when they visit us. We sure hope so. Having wonderful guests like you come visit and then become friends. . . it's a dream life for us.

Thanks for all the kind words. Please come back soon and join us in the Wine Garden for one of our legendary outdoor Happy Hours. You'll love it!

Jim, Debbie, Katie, Dave. . . and Smitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to find the ForFriends Inn in Santa Ynez for a family visit to CA. In fact, we celebrated our engagement with the guests of ForFriends over New Year's Eve. The story behind the hosts really says it all, stangers coming together and leaving as friends. The hosts were nothing less than outstanding; wonderful company and great conversation. The dog Smitty was the icing on the cake. The guests were friendly and were able to enjoy the delicious breakfast (esp the rosemary pop-overs) together every morning. The rooms were beautiful and the location could not be better. There is no question we will be back.

Room Tip: Top floor of main house with a warm in room fireplace and small balcony
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beantowntraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks so much for this glowing review, but, actually, it's us who should be raving about you. The announcement and celebration of your engagement was such a highlight to our NYE event. All of us here (innkeepers and guests) were so excited for you two — it made us recall that special day in our own lives. We're so excited for you two; your whole lives are ahead of you. Enjoy! We hope that we will get to see you in the years to come and help you celebrate your happiness together — always remembering that we were there at the beginning.

Please come back soon (maybe a honeymoon?)

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . Smitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place is so lovely and Jim and Debby are the perfect hosts. They make you feel right at home in their quaint inn. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Jim and Debby offer happy hour with local wines and wonderful appetizers. Debby's homemade breakfast was awesome and I will happily recommend the ForFriendsInn to anyone staying in the valley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for this kind review, Jenn. We so enjoyed having you here. It was nice getting to know you better and we look forward to seeing your latest artwork/masterpieces. Please share them with us as you create them, your technique and style is a favorite of ours. We love going through your Web site jschepporiginals.com.

Please come visit again soon!

Jim, Debbie, Katie, Dave. . . Smitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

stayed in the watertower on a rainy winter night and found it a really great and relaxing experience. though we were still in a residential neighborhood, it felt removed and isolated. very peaceful. would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mns_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful 5-Star review. Some of the best getaways happen on rainy days/nights. Especially when cozying up in a wonderful suite like Water Tower, with its one-touch fireplace and king-sized bed. Nothing like enjoying time together with a bottle of local wine, a warm fire and your special sweetheart. We're so happy you enjoyed your time here. Please come visit us again soon.... rain OR shine.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews