We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for old folks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ForFriends Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ForFriends Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Ynez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redding CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for old folks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I came to Santa Ynez to visit our children and grandchildren for a family reunion of sorts. This Inn was fabulous in terms of comfortable accommodations, cleanliness, service and congeniality! We had such a good time with the innkeepers and they were so helpful in assisting us with everything since we are older, in our 80's, and required handicapped facilities and help with luggage, etc. It was a great place and we would recommend it highly! Larry even drove us down to the local eating place for the breakfast--what wonderful people!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanti-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
169
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I had to jump thru hoops to get a reservation because I needed an accessible room for someone in a wheelchair. Larry asked me why I wanted to stay at the Edison which truly put me on the defensive. The one accessible room was not available for the dates I wanted. Larry told me to call back with other dates. When I did he gave me a run around about it being a busy time and asked me to call back with new dates. I called back with new dates and left detailed voicemails 2 times. He never returned my calls. I think Larry is very selective about the people he chooses to occupy the rooms at the inn. I hate to say it, but people with a disabilities must not be acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmom1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdisonStreetInn, General Manager at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
While we always make a sincere attempt to accomodate everyone, we realize that this goal is not always realized, as it appears so in this review. The Inn has a nice ADA room on the first floor with a private entrance and secluded patio. The room is cozy, often requested by returning non-ADA guests, and subsequently not available on most occasions, as was the case when this reviewer called to reserve it.
The reviewer indicated they wanted to book with us as "their friends" had told the reviewer that the Inn was a wonderful place to stay and had a nice ADA room. The reviewer became upset when the requested dates were not available and suggested that we involuntarily move the guest who had booked the room to another room. The reviewer also stated they would "pay" extra to have this done. We advised the reviewer that this request would not adhere to Inn policies to provide prospective guests with requested accomodations. We also advised the reviewer that we felt this request was unethical from a business perspective and politely refused to further deal with the reviewer.
We stand by our decision to refrain from engaging in further conversation with the reviewer, though we had received additional calls demanding accomodation. In reality, we chose to channel our communicative energy toward all the wonderful guests who have stayed with us and those who are planning a future stay.
While the review states the reviewer "stayed here July 2011" they were never a guest at this establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

A truly beautiful place. Larry, the owner and innkeeper is so attentive and kind. I stayed in the Bonanza Bungalow for 3 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. This the perfect wine country getaway. You can walk everywhere, go running, ride your bike or just relax in your own porch at the inn.

I can't wait to go back!

Thank you, Larry!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruinBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Inn and innkeepers were fantastic. The other guest at the evening wine were all happy. The Inn created the perfect back drop to the perfect weekend get away.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RoddSanLuisObispo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very well-located, beautiful B&B in Santa Ynez, walking distance to several good restaurants. Larry, the innkeeper, is friendly and full of restaurant recommendations and local knowledge. Breakfast is provided at a small coffee shop down the block, and is basic but good. Late afternoon wine and snacks, and coffee available from 6 a.m. on. Pick up a picnic lunch at one of the delis in the area and drive out to Sisquoc Canyon winery, buy a bottle of wine, and picnic on their beautiful, large park-like grounds overlooking the river valley. Excellent wines at very fair prices in a beautiful setting. Come back and have dinner at Grappolo down the street or the Red Barn next door for excellent steaks. The Chumash Casino is about a quarter of a mile away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Wow -- what a spectacular find in Santa Ynez! Quant and cozy B&B -- the Innkeepers (Larry and Bonnie) really made us feel welcome and haven't missed a single detail with the property. We went up for some wine tasting, special meals, and road cycling (pretty much in that order) and had a wonderful experience. Some great restaurants within walking distance and you're right in the heart of Santa Ynez wine country. Larry pointed us to some of his favorite spots, none of which disappointed. We will definitely be back! Hot tip: book early because space is limited...just the way we like it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

This place is not only very comfortable and clean, it is a sight seeing experience. Each room has a theme and is decorated with beautiful detail. I stayed in the big valley bunkhouse room but also got a peek at a few of the others......each room reminded me of something out of a magazine. Loved my huge comfy bed and the jacuzzi tub. Also perfect location for walking around town, was able to walk to the local bar and coffee shop.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hitome36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
6.1 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ForFriends Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ForFriends Inn

Property: ForFriends Inn
Address: 1121 Edison St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ForFriends Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Santa Ynez, CA, in the heart of Santa Barbara Wine Country: Minutes from Solvang, Los Olivos and all the wonderful wineries. ForFriends Inn is a luxurious seven-room B&B where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Your stay includes:• Daily three-course breakfast• Daily Happy Hour with wine, hors d'oeurves and socializing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your ForFriends Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing