We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant surprise”
Review of Trattoria Grappolo

Trattoria Grappolo
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Grappolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Meadowale
Transit: Santa Ynez valley shuttle stops in front of the restaurant.
Description: Authentic Italian food, wood fired pizzas, pasta, salad, steaks, seafood, extensive wine list.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just 45 minutes and a beautiful ride fron Santa Barbara, everything at the restaraurant was top notch. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines, the bread and oil was great, the salad very good, the pasta was fantastic and the chocolate, flourless cake for dessert was the cherry on the sundae.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    111
    25
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine Italian dining in the heart of wine country”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Trattoria Grappolo is an excellent find in the center of Santa Ynez. Food was excellent from Caprese salad to well executed seafood dishes. If weather is nice, outside patio offers a quieter venue for conversation or a romantic dinner.

Service was pleasant and accommodates to your pace. We did not have room left for dessert but would love to try it the next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was delicious but service was unfriendly”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our fod experience was great from appetizer to dessert. However, one waitor was very unfriendly. The hostess and other staff were very nice. He seemed unimpressed we wanted to share our various courses. Then at end did not bring cofee we ordered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimchantal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food is superb. It is Italian cuisine at its best. Personally, I've never had a bad meal here. The fish (sole) is always fresh, the bread divine, tasty desserts, and excellent service. Prices are reasonable for this caliber dining. Lovely ambiance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vignettehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Excellent food but really noisy!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We ate here both nights during our recent visit to the Santa Ynez valley. The first night we had reservations sharing that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were seated promptly, however, despite requesting a "nice" table, we were seated next to the bathroom and bumped constantly by visitors to them and no mention was made of our anniversary. We did see a table next to us celebrating a birthday so perhaps the server did not get the note. Service was quick and efficient although not overly friendly. The bottle of Sangiovese wine we ordered from the local Foxen winery was delicious and perfectly complemented our meal. Both pasta entrees were served within about 3 minutes of having placed our order. Seems they like to turn the tables rather quickly, unlike real Italian restaurants in Italy. The fettuccine Bolognese was so delicious but my husband was a bit disappointed in the special lamb ragu penne. The panna cotta with chocolate and caramel sauce was good but a bit watery. The price was what really made this place exceptional. A delicious, complete meal with dessert and a bottle of wine for less than $100 is almost unheard of! On our return the second night, we requested a patio seat thinking it would be a bit quieter than inside. This may have been true if not for the 6 drunk people seated with us. Again the meal was really good but my husband was served the wrong item. The correct chicken was brought after a short wait but the waiter apologized with a delicious bread pudding. All things considered, for the value and the great food, I would recommend a visit to this restaurant. Just be prepared for the noise level!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Grappolo also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Grappolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing