We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Salads and Sandwiches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burger Barn

The Burger Barn
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Salads and Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice for lunch. Indoor and outdoor sitting. Especially recommend the Cobb salad - large and tasty - along with the sweet potato fries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My parents had been here before and really enjoyed it. Its just an average place. Nothing too special. I had the steak sandwich which had a lot of fat. My husband had a burger that was tiny. My daughter had a blt that was expensive for what it was. Nothing was bad but it just was an average meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great little place tucked away in Santa Ynez”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We go here often, which for us is once or twice a month. Since we live a couple of blocks away it is extremely convenient.

Breakfast is great. Traditional breakfast fare (omelets, pancakes and the like).

Lunch is burgers and sandwiches that have always been worth the trip.

The sign is on the side of the building,which makes it easy to miss. There is a nice outdoor area with umbrellas which suit the weather here perfectly (there is indoor seating but we always go outside).

Service has always been excellent even when the get busy (it is a small place but the staff always seems to have everything running smoothly).

If you are in the area it is definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gwlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will hear about other places...go here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a group that ranged from 2-58 years old. Everyone was happier than could be imagined. Our waitress has worked there for a long time, but you would think we were her favorite table ever.

The Cobb Salad was terrific and huge. The burgers and what they are known for, but the onion rings cannot be surpassed for at least a 60-mile radius. Fabulous! The little ones split a quesadilla, and the waitress made our work very easy by bringing extra plates, extra napkins, extra everything. You will pay less money and get more service with a great local atmosphere at Burger Barn.

If at all possible, eat outside. It doesn't look glamorous, but it is wonderful if the weather isn't too hot or too cold.

We are locals, and we love Burger Barn. Our friends travel from areas with far more options, and they think Burger Barn is a keeper. We agree! You should visit soon!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cruzincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“True Wholesome, Delicious, Fresh Food - You'll Love It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Burger Barn - GREAT place to eat - wholesome, tasty food every time we have eaten there. The staff is very attentive, polite, and professional. We took a crowd of 16 there in 2012 and all from different California cities wished they had a restaurant like this in their neighborhood! Their fresh fruit bowl they serve with breakfast (think they open at 7:00 AM PST) is the freshest we have had in a restaurant. Their burgers and sandwiches are YUMMY, too! Check them out when you are on your way to the Chumash Casino which is just down the street - it'll get you in the mood to win at the casino!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Barn also viewed

 
Santa Ynez, CA
 

Been to The Burger Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing