We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting”
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very charming. Enjoyed the wine country and relaxing atmosphere. Friendly staff and well-organized. I had a great time during this three day side-vacation on a business trip to LA. Next time, I will bring the whole family!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were introduced to the Santa Ynez Inn by friends who had stayed there and enjoyed it. We were impressed from the moment we turned into the driveway. The inn and the property were charming. The staff was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. We stayed in Room 202 and it was beautiful. The room was spacious and airy. The bathroom was marble with a walk-in steam shower and a separate jacuzzi tub. The breakfast was outstanding, as was the daily wine tasting and nightly dessert. The staff recommended wineries to visit and made a reservation for us to go to a private vineyard. Staying here was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights – a much needed quiet getaway with my husband. We come to this area quite often, but have never checked out Santa Ynez – tiny and charming. From the Inn you can walk (within a block either direction) to three very good restaurants for lunch or dinner. The Inn is charming and impeccably maintained – so clean with tons of attention to detail. Its Victorian-ish décor is tasteful and not overdone or stuffy. The rooms are modern and comfortable. We had a king bed with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. We loved the very high ceilings and doorways, which made the room feel extra large. The bathroom was gigantic (larger than that of any 5-star resort we’ve stayed in). We were pleasantly surprised to find a super cold mini-fridge in the room. Fireplace was nice for ambience, but doesn’t supply any real heat since it’s the “on/off” remote control type. Nice balcony overlooking a fountain. The bed was very comfortable. If there could be one improvement to the room, it would be to have a Keurig K-cup coffee brewer in the room. The coffee maker they supply makes just about the worst coffee ever. Breakfasts in the morning were nicely done, wine and appetizers in the evening were very nice, plus coffee and dessert at night. All in all, we think it was a very good value. The staff is attentive and helpful, although not necessarily cheerful or personable. They seemed rather reserved in general. A big note for us, a significant complaint, are the doors to the guest rooms: they’re big and heavy, and they close with a resounding bang. We have young kids at home, so being able to sleep in when we get away is a major priority. Here at the Inn, both mornings we were awakened early (7:00am) by Wham! Wham! Wham! because apparently our neighbors were early risers who were not considerate enough to try and close their doors gently. This is a deal-breaker for us, one that might keep us from returning. It was like someone swinging a sledgehammer outside our door again and again. The Inn really should install soft-close door mechanisms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous three day weekend at the lovely Santa Yanez Inn. Wonderful property in a charming setting. We were pleasantly surprised how spacious our room was; we even had a private patio! The bed and sheets were 1st class. The breakfast was outstanding as was the evening wine tasting (include in your price). The location was great for walking to all the Santa Yanez restaurants and wineries. The property well-kept. We didn’t want to leave. I would definitely recommend staying at Santa Yanez Inn. We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huggerlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were in the San Ynez valley for a party and decided to stay at the Inn. We were delighted with everything. The room was large and well appointed with a marble bath, jacuzzi and steam shower. I never heard any sounds outside or inside the building even though a wedding took place Saturday mid-morning. The dining room features home baked goodies in the morning and they were fresh and delicious. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. I look forward to an excuse to be in San Ynez and stay again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulipMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stopped here after a full day of wine tasting in Los Olivos. It was a very pleasant surprise! A beautifully maintained Inn that reminded me of some of the inns that we stayed in New England. Very charming and cozy :) We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This has been one of our favorite romantic get away places. They recently changed owners and many of the staff we had met before were gone. The training of new staff seems to be taking place but not the special service and caring from before. Still love the location and facility. Missed the welcome card and candy or wine for our anniversary and slow service at breakfast. We will return again in a few months to see if they can get back to the absolutely top quality they were before.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billkathy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick_santaynezinn, General Manager at Santa Ynez Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

We so appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you for making us your getaway to celebrate your anniversary!

I was very disappointed to learn that you were not completely delighted with the service you received during your stay. Turnover is part of any business but the key is to ensure that guests feel the same warm welcome with each and every one of our team. I give you my personal promise that I will work with every member of the staff to help them understand warm and genuine hospitality. We clearly did not live up to your standards, or ours, and For that I certainly apologize.


We thank you again, and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range: $287 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. Guests can enjoy full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour, as well as late tea and cookies. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers guests an exclusive tasting pass to select wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen TVs. Suites have steam showers and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing