We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Fbg, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the second time in less than a month that I stayed here. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The wine tasting adds a nice touch. The breakfast is filling and delicious. Expensive but well worth the cost. Within walking distance to all the best restaurants, wine tastings and shops in Santa Ynez.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    26
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
251
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Delightful boutique hotel in a quaint little town. A perfect hub for taking day trips into the wine country of Santa Ynez Valley. Each night they had a wine tasting bar setup which was a great way to unwind at the end of the day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We selected this Inn based on the 4-diamond rating, but did not know anything about it. What a pleasant surprise! First, the check-in staff escorted us to the room, showed us the works, and the Direct TV controls that confuses everyone but the kids. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We ate a wonderful lunch at The Vineyard House across the parking lot, next to the Spa (thanks to the local couple sitting at the next table on the porch with us). Then since the Inn partners with several of the local wineries and tasting rooms, the flight tastings were gratis. We ended up buying a case of wine from the first tasting room/wine maker---The Imagine and met the owner (Ross) who took an hour with us to explain how he blended/made his wine. We went back to the Inn for Happy Hour, and the wine was not the jug stuff, but the $20+ upper shelf wine. We tasted the Carr Winery Pino Gris, amongst 3 other wines, along with a varied selection of hors d'Oeuvres. The next morning, we just went to the Carr tasting room and bought the wine from the night before (too early to start alcohol at 10am and then drive). Then later that evening, the Inn put out a desert setting for a night-cap. Then breakfast was cook-to-order gourmet style quality that was beyond expectation for a B&B. We did not have time for the spa, as we had to move along our trip, but we will return in the near future for more than just one day. We felt we got our monies worth and the staff was low key and very accommodating. The Inn is about 3 miles east of Solvang, and is in a rural setting that is very subtle, not like Solvang that is very commercialized. The Inn has earned the 4-Diamonds and in our opinion works to keep it that way. You should not be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Over-looking the fountain/courtyard, looking at The Vinehouse restaurant and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Fantastic place. the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are great (we stayed in 201), large rooms, very clean and comfortable, large bathroom with most luxuries you can imagine. They provide wine in afternoon, some desserts at night, both great, and breakfast in AM (that is the only thing that could do a bit better). Very relaxing and enjoyable place, would definitely come back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regular-traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of our road trip at the beginning of October 2013. What a great choice the hotel was, superb. The drive to the hotel from Las Angeles was quite spectacular and an experience in itself. We arrived at the hotel early but that wasn't a problem, the room was ready. The staff were great and very helpful, the atmosphere was brilliant. The room lived up to expectations it was fantastic, the Jacuzzi bath in the room an extremely nice bonus. The advice I would give is make sure you attend the free wine reception, pop to the restaurant next door for a great steak, then pop back to hotel for free desert. What a great way to spend an evening in Santa Ynez

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Santa Ynez Inn is like a luxury B&B that has a lot of charm and character without giving up anything in class.

I love all of the events they have and you could totally plan your day around them (and if I ever stay here again, I will!) -

Breakfast
They serve a hot breakfast (our options were a waffle, smoked salmon scramble, ro vegetarian omelet) with a cold food buffet (granola + yogurt, fruit, muffins, pastries) and various juice options, as well as coffee and tea (organic!). You can even order "breakfast in bed" and have it delivered to your room for a $5 surcharge (awesome!).

Wine and Cheese Hour
We showed up after the wine and cheese hour was over, but were able to take in the leftovers. There was a good assortment of cheese and red and white wine to choose from.

Desserts
Unfortunately we missed this one because we were dining late at Grappola :(

The staff here, from the woman who does the turn down service, to the guy who checks you in at the front desk, to the people who serve breakfast, are all extremely nice and make you feel right at home. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable (and immaculate) and even had a private outdoor patio. They also had really nice toiletries that you only find in high end hotels (my favorite, and yes, I did take them all with me).

There were also amenities we didn't have the chance to partake in, like the sauna and the hot tub.

If anything, I just wish we could have spent more time in the hotel enjoying the amenities! If I ever stay here again, I'm definitely showing up right at check in and not leaving until check out :P

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first stop in CA. We found the property to be very charming and full of character. Great restaurants are within walking distace, but the "town" itself is extremely small. Not muh to do after dinner. The beds were very comfortable, nicely appoined rooms. Good for a stop along the way! Service is a bit slow here since the front desk staff double as servers in the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milla3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing