We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Slice of Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast and more!!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Slice of Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From all that I had read, I had high expectations for our stay at this property. Little did I know that all would be met and exceeded! The staff gives thoughtful detail and attention to each guest. The property is amazing and looks like a step back to another time period. Beautifully furnished with antiques throughout, the attention continues to the landscaped grounds with flowers and a fountain and a wonderful shaded green area to sit and relax. Each morning a menu with two different entrees is offered along with juices and coffee. But there is also a buffet with fruits and muffins and breads and granola and yogurt. VERY large breakfast served in a stunning dining room with china and silver and cloth napkins. No detail left to chance. At 5pm each evening in the same area one can relax with wine selections and an array of hors d'oeuvres (different each evening) and all complimentary. And at 8:30pm each evening one can again visit the area for desserts and coffee. Our deluxe king suite had music piped into the room (you can control the sound level) plus a working gas fireplace. A serene and nicely appointed room with a bath area that was large and tastefully done. As the town is small there are two excellent restaurants to walk to-The Vineyard House next door and Trattoria Grappolo a bit further down the street. We loved our experience at this property.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 and had a balcony overlooking the gardens. Very quiet at night as the town is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahc620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    26
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
28
250
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Again, another great visit. Friendly staff, great food and wine and a chance to relax. Room was on the street side but hardly noticed any noise. Had dinner down the street at Dos Carlito's and took a look in the local museum. I'm looking at coming back again in a month.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The Santa Ynez in was a last minute reservation on a major holiday weekend. We didn't know what we were getting into. Turned out to be a very amazing stay and wonderful experience. Service is outstanding! The rooms, while not my personal choice of favored decor, are beautifully appointed with marble steam showers and separate marble jacuzzi tubs for two, fireplaces, very luxurious beds and linens and sizable balconies. Delicious made to order breakfast was included in the beautiful parlor. Nice surprises were wine tasting hour AND dessert hours also included. We are already planning our next trip which will definitely include staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACprojects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the SYI during our cycling vacation in August.The Inn is beautiful, and our room was so elegant. Music playing as we entered,and was controllable within the room. Our room also had a fireplace and huge flat-screen tv aptly mounted above it. Beautiful window treatments, furniture, lighting. Gorgeous. The bathroom was spacious-perfect for a couple. We so enjoyed the outdoor hot-tub on the terrace, and the wine tasting every afternoon. We experienced some wines from local winemakers whose tasting rooms we had not had the opportunity to visit. The staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this Inn when staying in the area-you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8fulgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

. We loved this place! It has everything you want from gorgeous big modern rooms, beautiful robes, fireplace and an amazing bathroom with jetted tub. In the evening there is complimentary wine with hot hors devours and later, deserts, coffee and tea. The fabulous breakfast in the morning was much more than I could eat. I thought it was just the sideboard covered in fresh fruits, juices, coffee, breads, muffins, and homemade granola (which you can purchase to take home with you). After finishing this, comes the “cooked to order” breakfast, which is really great!

The first night, we decided to watch the movie “Sideways” which was filmed in this area. The Inn keeps several copies along with lots of other movies for you to watch in your room. We both love this movie and it made the next day touring all the wineries in the movie even more fun. The countryside is amazingly beautiful and the people at the wineries were very nice.

On the drive to Santa Ynez from San Diego, we stopped at Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park. It is a short drive off the main road between Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez. We also went to the Farmer’s Market in Solvang and had lunch at a lovely little sandwich shop, the Succulent Café. The sandwiches were great but one would have been enough for the two of us.

I would love to go back to this beautiful place soon. What a great getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loisjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connroe, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful experience! The SY Inn has it all. Free gourmet breakfast, wine tasting and appetizers, dessert, and turn down service. The inn has the look of an old Victorian house, but it is as modern as can be. The bath has a whirlpool tub and the shower is large and has frameless glass. The room had a very comfortable bed, flat screen tv, and remote control fireplace. Add in ample free parking and you have it all. You're ready to explore the area wine country, Solvang, and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wiife and I stayed here for 3 nights during the week. I found this place on a "deals" site and decided to give it a try. Despite being a bit skeptical about deal sites, I'm happy to say that this one was a great find. The rooms are large, unique, and very fancy. The staff did an excellent job of accommodating anything we needed. The included "extras" are also welcome, such as breakfast, wine tasting, and dessert.

Pros:
+Excellent rooms, well maintained, very large, attention to details
+Service was outstanding
+Food/Wine is very good

Cons:
-Rather expensive, and we went on a weekday AND got a discount from a deals site. I do think we got our money's worth, but it's still a lot of money to shell out.
-It would be nice to have a pool in such a hot climate, but not a killer
-Not a whole lot around the area other than wine tasting

Overall a very nice place to stay and we hope to go back soon. Expensive, but you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just get the standard room. The deluxe did not seem much larger or nicer and you can save a few buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing