We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great 'run to' from San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great 'run to' from San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There's nothing finer than a great Inn. Some of the room have 4 post beds.... but they all share one thing: Quality. Two and three things: Comfy and Cozy.

The staff couldn't be nicer. They have great breakfasts, afternoon wine & appetizers and evening dessert offerings all for the price of an overnight.

And it's next to a pretty terrific restaurant.

So, if you're looking for a quick getaway, THIS is IT!

Best,
Chef Marian
Blog: ChefMarian.com

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    26
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
261
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Santa Ynez area is beautiful and offers wonderful wine discoveries if you don't mind going off the beaten path. However, It's challenging to find special places to stay and eat. We stay regularly at the Santa Ynez Inn and always have a very relaxing and comfortable experience. However, it is tremendously overpriced and the Victorian abundance can be a bit stodgy.
The service is lovely, but the food is quite bland and uninteresting although a lovely touch. So, it is a place we return to but wish there were other options!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelproPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Don't know where to start...place was incredible. Santa Ynez is past all the craziness of Solvang...Buellton - great if that is what you are looking for and this weekend wasn't. Let's start with the important stuff...the staff. Christina - personalized the trip, dinner suggestions/reservations, private wine tours, special cheese/cracker plate made up for your room. Jessica, Landon, Wanda - everyone was stellar, warm and friendly. This Inn lacks for nothing - everything included - great breakfast with fresh quiche, omlets, waffles hot off the griddle, granola the likes you have never tasted, wine & hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon, dessert a bit later. Shower had 4 heads, not including the over head rain shower, heated marble bench, whirlpool tub, bathroom floor was heated, fabulous bedding, squishy-get lost in chairs, delish coffee, lovely high ceilings on a ground floor room, quiet-private patio with a fountain. Buy a bag of the granola - You'll swear is the best you've ever had - homemade right there. Place was just what we wanted and desired. Quiet, off-season, 80+ temps, cold-clear nights. We could not have asked for more. Not inexpensive - they leave nothing to chance nor want. My only thought...fabulous towels, wished they'd been a bit softer. No compliant!!! Robes were devine. If you have the chance or the inclination - grab it - our escape to play could not have been more perfect...thanks in large part to the Santa Ynez Inn. Patti & Ted

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerbaitPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

LOVED everything about this sweet little B&B. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Our room was beautiful and spacious. All the luxuries you would expect from an that would cost twice as much.
A bonus was the delicious breakfast, happy hour and nightly desserts. We will be back!

The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars was because our bed was too hard - but some people might like that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy_Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent several delightful days at Santa Ynez Inn over Christmas. Even before arriving, we were sold on the Inn by the wonderful personal attention lavished on us by Christina, who deserves special recognition for her warm, friendly, caring approach to guests. The Inn, although Victorian in decor, is relatively new (2001, with an add-on in 2008), and reflects the highest quality construction. Rooms - each one individually configured and furnished - are spacious and comfortable. Terrific breakfasts every morning, plus "happy hour" appetizers, local wines and a roaring fire each evening, plus after-dinner desserts & coffee! Who could ask for more? Well, the Inn also provides great outing and restaurant recommendations, too. We encountered several returning guests - further testament to the warm feelings engendered by the Inn and its staff. This has got to be the best place to stay in the Santa Ynez / Solvang / Los Olivos area if you're visiting vineyards, sightseeing, or just plain getting away from it all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn to celebrate her birthday, take in the sites and visit a few of the local wineries. From our arrival to our departure, we had a great experience. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was both professional and personable. They were able to satisfy all our requests for information and assistance with ease. Each morning we were treated to an outstanding made-to-order breakfast. The Inn's daily wine tasting/appetizers and coffee/desserts complimented our evening meals and provided the final touch to an enjoyable day. Thanks to the entire staff for making this a wonderful birthday vacation for my wife and me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 130navigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cow country, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I selected this inn as the site for my honey's 50th birthday. We checked in to room 212 with a huge bathroom complete With heated floors and a giant Jacuzzi tub. Steam shower was fabulous.
No corners work when building this beautiful property. Everything was absolutely lovely.
We truly felt like royalty. The evening wine reception with the appetizers is very nice And coming back after dinner for their dessert reception was perfect.
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palepinkribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing