We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel/inn ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best hotel/inn ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I planned a long weekend getaway and booked two nights (of our 4) at Santa Ynez Inn. Wish we had stayed all 4. Beautiful, huge room (#210) - you would think you were at the Four Seasons. Incredible breakfast, wine and apps in the afternoon, great, friendly staff. As other reviewers have mentioned, this isn't a typical b&b, which we would have been happy with. This is nicer than most hotels you will ever stay in at any price. Within 30 minutes of dozens of great wineries and restaurants. We just happened to be there during Santa Ynez Day, which was a hoot with parade, food tents, etc. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We only saw room 210, and it is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    26
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
30
261
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments. While the Santa Ynez Inn does provide a bed and a breakfast, this is in no way your typical tchotchke filled, Teddy Beared B & B. The inn is a modern building built in the Victorian style and furnished in the same manner. It has twenty rooms and suites located on two floors. There is ample, close parking.
Our room was quite large and supplied with all the amenities one would expect in this price range. Look for a flat screen television, gas fireplace with remote, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, bathrobes, slippers, weight scales (well, who really wants that on vacation?) and you will find them. In addition, the bathroom had two sinks and tissues stationed at both ends, a nice touch as well as two luggage racks. This room had a separate water closet which makes it more functional. The only downside to the room was the lighting. There were three lamps, one on each night table and one floor lamp by the side chair. None of them had other than a low watt bulb, which is fine for ambiance but bad for reading.
Many inns provide a wine service in the late afternoon. The Santa Ynez Inn has a wine service and also serves a variety of delicious, interesting appetizers to go along with the several types of local wines they provide. We sampled wonderful cheeses, filled mushrooms and a smoked salmon appetizer that was a real treat. Later in the evening there is a dessert service that we were unable to attend, however I'm sure it was equally enjoyable. Breakfast the next day started with coffee and tea as well as juices set out and a side board with fruit, pastries, cereal and yogurt. A choice of two cooked entrees was offered.
I am most impressed by the service which is personal and attentive. When we checked in, I asked for ice to be delivered in order to chill wine we had brought. Up came an old fashioned ice bucket wrapped in a white napkin, two wine glasses and all was placed on a towel. No handing a plastic container through the door. Later in the afternoon, a hotel staff member brought around a plastic bag of ice to fill the room ice buckets. The staff members seem to anticipate your needs, everyone is friendly and helpful.
Would I stay at the Santa Ynez Inn again? You betcha!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Last week, we returned to the Santa Ynez Inn for two nights after our first visit seven years ago in 2005 and were not disappointed. Everyone from Rick the manager, to Tyler at the front desk to the rest of staff and housekeeping were focused on making sure we had a great stay and offered to help us make appointments at wineries, offer their suggestions, assist with dinner reservations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely delicious both days - and love the wine hour, dessert hour and other amenities the room provides (patio, jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, safe, mini frig, robes and slippers, upscale toiletries, bottled water). While the town of Santa Ynez is small and quiet, that's part of it's charm. There are a few cute stores and boutiques - and we love Trattoria Grappolo for dinner and Dos Carlitos for afternoon drinks and lunch after shopping at Tumbleweeds. The Inn is centrally located to easily reach other destinations in the Wine Country. You certainly won't be sorry for selecting the Santa Ynez Inn - we cannot wait to return and only hope it won't be seven years until our next visit!

Room Tip: The room was extremely comfortable. While all are well appointed and comfortable, we found it well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soulshine3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I loved this b&b. Our room was pretty big and included a patio with a little table and two chairs! Right next to the fountain, too, so we could hear the gurgling of water and look out onto trees and flowers. The bath tub was so big, I think I could swim in it. The service was fantastic and the breakfast yummy. It's also walking distance to a bunch of restaurants (and I think even one winery...). What a fantastic experience! We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Really liked our first floor room that had double doors opening up onto a patio (and a fireplace!!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAIrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and stayed here for our anniversary. The room although smaller than appeared in internet pictures, the room was beautiful. Unfortunately it took the jetted tub in the room 30 minutes to fill. We ask the front desk if that was normal and he said no and maintenance would look at it the next day. The next day we were told that the low water pressure was normal for that room. The guy at the front desk did not appear like he was motivated to help. I waited 15minutes for someone to show up for checkout. Earlier he seemed more interested in his phone call than to help another customer at the desk. The breakfast, desserts, afternoon snacks were very good and the lady who ran the breakfast was nice as well. The hotel is centrally located to go to other towns in the area although Santa ynez did not have a lot to offer. The jacuzzi tub outside closed at 9pm, which seemed to be the theme for everything in the town. There was a good happy hour at don carlitos Mexican restaurant. For the price I would stay somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

From the front end staff, food service to housekeeping, this is by far one of the nicest establishments we have stayed at worldwide. Truly a welcoming experience. We will not only repeatedly return, but continue to recommend highly!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, choosing a patio room, and steam shower is extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Clean, very comfortable. Great bathroom. Love the walk in shower (I hate hotel shower curtains). Only stayed one short night, but will be back. Breakfast was wonderful!

Had lunch at Cold Springs Tavern on our way to Santa Ynez Inn from Santa Barbara. Sunday afternoon- great tri-tip sandwiches in an unusual (in a good way) setting! Go there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boaterswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ynez
3.7 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
6.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
0.5 mi away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Property: Santa Ynez Inn
Address: 3627 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour with hors d'oeuvres and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Most rooms have fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Suites have steam shower and patio or balcony. Please contact the hotel directly to confirm room type and specific room amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing