We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual Mexican food in Santa Ynez”
Review of Dos Carlitos

Dos Carlitos
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great casual Mexican food in Santa Ynez”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Just dined last night at Dos Carlitos ... great carnitas tacos (very large serving) and rock shrimp tacos. Good margaritas and great flan for dessert. Attentive service; highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    96
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A wonderful restaurant with service to match. From the moment we arrived we were greated by the manager who could not have been more helpful. The homemade tortilla chips and salsa were faultless and wanting you to come back for more. For a main course I had mesquite cooked chicken and beef corn tortillas with black beans and guacamole which were delicious. Dos Carlitos have taken Mexican cooking to a new level with subtle flavours and imaginative use of ingredients. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charmingmanoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do you love Ceviche?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If so, Carliotos will make you happy. They have some of the best Ceviche I have had outside of Mexico and my own! Love sitting outside on their front patio but it is fun when it is chilly inside. Good drinks, good wait staff and very acceptable mexican food. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Chile Rellenos Ever”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a big fan of Mexican cuisine and was delighted when friends invited me to lunch at the Dos Carlitos. I had the absolute best chile rellenos I have ever eaten, crispy and delicous. The hot sauce was perfect and our servers were present but not intrusive. We were a party of 12 and everyone raved about their choices. I would definitely recommend and wished they delivered...to France!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, food and service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

When traveling really good Mexican restaurants at hard to find. While staying in Solvang on our way to/from Newport Beach locals recommended Dos Carlitos very highly. We went with high expectations and were not disappointed and we have been back since that first visit.

The ambiance is very nice to provide a very pleasant dining experience. The wait staff is friendly, knowledgable, and helpful with recommendations on the menu entries. The only thing that could ruin the experience would be the food and it was outstanding - especially the seafood burrito, which was large and loaded with seafood. Our first experience was like winning the trifecta and return visits have not changed our first impression. When we head south in February it will be on our bucket list.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flylikeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Carlitos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Carlitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing