We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nature

This is a really nice place to go and simply enjoy all the beauty that God has made. It is a great... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Bob A
Sugar Shuttle

Took the shuttle on a wonderful Saturday. Parked at the trailhead at Goodspeed on Los Alamos, and... read more

Reviewed April 13, 2019
pfefmeister
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 21 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Rosa
from $83.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
15
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los alamos great hiking sugarloaf summit hike terrain fires bridge trees nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

This is a nice regional park. While it doesn't give you the dramatic views of the coast or the Sierras to the east, the park does offer a number of trails through the grasslands and forests of Central California.

Hood Mountain can be ascended by a mix of fire roads and hiking trails. Camping is allowed at the designated site and the park does connect with the adjacent Sugarloaf Regional Park, making longer trips possible.

Good birding throughout the park, as well as a few mammals and reptile species.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Birdwatcher_jpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

There are different ways to get there depending on where you want to park. Our group arranged a "shuttle" parking where some parked from below and others parked at the top. There is a $7 fee from both parking lots. Kiosk is self-service. Please pay to support the park and to avoid a ticket.
From the top, we stopped at the Mansion, a historical building that is preserved. This building was commemorated under Gov Ed Brown. See the sign. We hiked to the top, about 9 miles of very challenging 2700+ ft to the highest point of Sonoma. We had lunch there and returned to our cars. View was outstanding. We also saw a rattle snake on our way down. Also be careful with poison oak. There were some on the trail. This visit and activity can last from two hours all the way to all day depending on what you want to make of it. Bring lots of water as there are none available nearby. We also passed by two ponds but water are not drinkable. Awesome view!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Not well marked trails and really a stepped one if you decide to go all the way to the great views at the top. It's roughly a 2.5 hrs one way if you are in good shape. Be careful with the trails since they're not well marked and you can take the wrong one and off the one you wish to take. Bring enough water. There's no water in the park but a cold delicious creek where you want to cool off your feet on the way back to the parking lot

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Alvaro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016

This is an intence hike so be ready to get a work out! the first mile is mostly on the paved road but then it turns into a dirt trail. there are some splits in the trail so check out the map in the parking lot before you take off. I recommend taking a picture so you stay on the correct trail. bring a camera the views at the top are amazing!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

The hike to the top of Hood Mountain was steep and rugged, but worth the effort. It's a great trek through woods and meadows, although the trails are poorly marked and we went off course. It was ok because we caught a panoramic view and saw the spires of the Golden Gate Bridge in the far distance. Not for those who are out of shape.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank kdpNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews