We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Save
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We only meant to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying four. This is a nice, very well run motel, easy to find and within walking distance of services and very good restaurants. Our room was a spacious comfortable apartment on the first floor with a small kitchen facility, spacious storage, a dining table, TV, alarm and air conditioning. There is an attractive swimming pool, ample shade from trees and the place is quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The staff are well turned out, efficient and pleasant. I can recommend the Hillside Inn to anyone looking for somewhere modest to stay in the Santa Rosa area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    23
    12
    19
See reviews for
36
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a modest, well kept up independent motel that offers good value for the money. The rooms are fairly spacious, clean, and the bathroom has pool-size terry cloth towels. The shower is good, and the restaurant that shares the property offers hearty, though pricy breakfasts. In all, if you are looking for basics, modest pricing, and not concerned about frills (I.e.: flat screen TV) it's a good choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Owner/Mgr. was gruff, rude, disrespectful and argumentative. Cut me off when I tried to inquire about my room not being what I reserved. I asked him to speak kinder and I was told: "If you don't like your room, go somewhere else". It was apparent that the owner/mgr. dislikes people and should not be in this business. He has no clue to what customer service is. He is curt and acts as though you are putting him out if you try to talk to him. I give him personally zero stars! As for the establishment itself it was noisy in the early morning (just before 7 a.m.) with our room being directly above the restaurant. We requested no housekeeping & place the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door & was told to inform the office by housekeeping, which we did, but on our return that evening someone had entered our room & unlocked a door to another bedroom. So much for privacy...............

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ALSD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Rosa hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was an older, motel type hotel. However, my room was more like a suite - very spacious, extra large closet, dining area, mini fridge and stove. I found this to be very convenient.
The bed was very comfortable, the TV had lots of channels, the wifi worked flawlessly, and overall the hotel was very quiet.
The price was very affordable and the location was excellent. There is an IHOP and a grocery store (Safeway I think), with a Starbuck's within walking distance. The mall is not far either. Everything else is just a short drive away.
The hotel always had lots of convenient parking available, more parking at the back if needed, also some covered parking back there.
If you have a problem with stairs or if your luggage is exceptionally heavy, you might want to ask for a room on the lower level.
I found this to be a wonderful choice at a very affordable price, and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank succeed_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love this hotel! The Hillside Inn has extremely clean rooms and clean grounds. Everything on the premises is well manicured and looked after. There is a great breakfast cafe (Jeffrey's Hillside Cafe) downstairs which makes for an easy departure in the morning. The rooms were good size and CLEAN. The Hillside Inn seems to have all the original fixtures, furniture and style, which was charming! We will definitely be visiting the Hillside Inn on our next adventure through Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJFoster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, the Hillside Inn is in need of updating the rooms but overall if you want a clean comfortable bed this does just fine. The premises were tidy and attractive. Our room had a very tight bathroom...the toilet was situated nearly against the wall with the tissue roll pushing into your side. Made for some interesting contortions. Thin blanket and bedspread but the bathroom towels were thick, soft and snowy white! The soaps and lotions were better quality brand! The manager was polite and pleasant. We would return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryangma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute stop. It was convenient to the event we attended and was a pleasant surprise. It was so clean, quiet and had free wif fi. The on site restaurant was a plus - and, for had a great selection for the vegetarians in our party. I would not hesitate to recommend Hillside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#10 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 2901 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95409-4020
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing