We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Clean & Comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Save
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
2901 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95409-4020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable, Clean & Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love this hotel! The Hillside Inn has extremely clean rooms and clean grounds. Everything on the premises is well manicured and looked after. There is a great breakfast cafe (Jeffrey's Hillside Cafe) downstairs which makes for an easy departure in the morning. The rooms were good size and CLEAN. The Hillside Inn seems to have all the original fixtures, furniture and style, which was charming! We will definitely be visiting the Hillside Inn on our next adventure through Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJFoster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    23
    12
    19
See reviews for
35
28
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a gem from the past. The unit we had, included a small kitchenette, no pans or glass ware, nor microwave. This could be updated very easy . The bed was nice but the only problem I had, was with the ac unit. Since it is only a couple of feet from the bed, it kept coming on and off all night, and did not get much sleep.
Not sure how to fix that problem, but it had a great pool and relaxing patio where my wife and I played some card games.
There is a nice restaurant on the premises.
The owner , BOB, was very pleasant and found him quite kind and fun to talk to.
Stop in and say Hi.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great but if you have a lot of luggage, try down first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, the Hillside Inn is in need of updating the rooms but overall if you want a clean comfortable bed this does just fine. The premises were tidy and attractive. Our room had a very tight bathroom...the toilet was situated nearly against the wall with the tissue roll pushing into your side. Made for some interesting contortions. Thin blanket and bedspread but the bathroom towels were thick, soft and snowy white! The soaps and lotions were better quality brand! The manager was polite and pleasant. We would return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryangma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute stop. It was convenient to the event we attended and was a pleasant surprise. It was so clean, quiet and had free wif fi. The on site restaurant was a plus - and, for had a great selection for the vegetarians in our party. I would not hesitate to recommend Hillside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Hillside Inn twice a year for several years. This place is great. It's very well cared for and always very clean and tidy. The management and staff is excellent and it kind of has a home-town feel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night while on a tour of local breweries. I did not notice any problems with the management as others have posted. The lady at the front desk was very polite. We got a room in the right back corner. Rooms are very spacious with a stove, oven, and mini fridge. No micro. Traffic was loud until about midnight and again around five am. Walls were thin. I would say if you needed a place to stay for a while, the kitchen would be A bonus. Price was the cheapest I found prior to visiting, not counting the slum motels downtown. Would reccomend to anyone needing a cheap extended stay not far from downtown nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4CacheMonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a lovely surprise this Inn was. My boyfriend and I decided to stop in based on reviews we found on trip advisor. We needed a place to crash before heading to Sonoma and Napa valley the next day. Had great service, great price and was quiet and quaint! Would definitely stay here again when in town an would recommend to anyone to stop in! A little outdated interior, but clean and cozy!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynswrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#10 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 2901 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95409-4020
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing