We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest, stay at the Hillside Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
surrey, british columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Forget the rest, stay at the Hillside Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

The television series "Bewitched" ran from 1964 to 1972. I tell you this because the Hillside Inn will make you think that you've time warped back to 1964. You'll be looking over your shoulder to see if Elizabeth Montgomery and the rest of the Bewitched cast have been resurrected and are living large at the Hillside Inn. This place is retro, groovy, and just the ticket for a pleasant inexpensive stay ($74 plus tax for a king room with 1960s original kitchenette) in Santa Rosa.

I stayed the evening of August 2, 2012 in room 207. Very clean, room 207 featured everything I needed, including original appliances from the 1960s. 25 inch tv, lots of dressers, king bed with firm (but comfy) mattress, and basic washroom (tub with shower). Outside, the pool area is very nice and well maintained, and there is plenty of parking. On site restaurant open 7 am to 2 pm daily, or cross the street and go to the IHOP. I have nothing bad to say about the Hillside Inn.

Overall, on a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is excellent, I give the Hillside an 8. It is not the Waldorf, but for the price, you get excellent value and a neat motel experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    23
    12
    20
See reviews for
39
27
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Italy, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

felt cozy, like being at your great aunts home. you have to pay for wifi. great value for a one night stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi and thanks for your review. I just wanted to clarify that WiFi is free in all of our rooms for all of our guests, so that there is no confusion with anyone reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This family owned property is a pleasant change from pricey chain hotels in the Santa Rosa area. It's a well-maintained older property with large, clean rooms, pretty landscaping and owners who work hard to provide guests with a good value and a comfortable stay. Many rooms have small kitchen areas; some are full suites with a 2nd bedroom and separate kitchen. Hillside has a great location by Montgomery Shopping Center. There is an excellent restaurant on the property and several other good places within reasonable walking distance. "Downtown" Santa Rosa is a short straight drive away. We rarely use the pool, but it makes a pretty place to visit or read on warm days. Hillside became our home away from home in Santa Rosa nearly a decade ago. Few places stand up to repeat visits the way this one has.

Room Tip: We've been comfortable in various rooms. Some rooms have separate kitchens for which there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northcoast_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised by how big our room was! There was only a suite available, so we took it (especially b/c the price for a suite here compared to a normal room elsewhere) and wow, it was big! Two bedrooms, plenty of other space to move around. but I peeked into other rooms at checkout time, and even the smallest rooms were very large and have kitchenettes. Especially pleasing considering the price! The pool is big, and not cold, and there are mature trees, and it's just a pretty place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

This cute inn right in Santa Rosa is very affordable and in a great location. The rooms were well kept and have ample room. Nice kitchenette. We left some items after check out and the housekeeper had them all turned in and waiting for us. The front desk service was great. I would stay there anytime I am in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love this place. Easy to book. Large, comfortable, quiet rooms. And very affordable. It's the only place I'll stay when in Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: I usually stay in the back where it's completely quiet. Never stayed out front, so not sure how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Hillside Inn was one of the most affordable accommodations we found in California, and offered the most space. We had high expectations since it was off season, and were very happy with the price, size of the bed, working kitchen, and friendly staff. It was way too cold to try the pool sadly. We stayed an extra night to enjoy the Charles Shultz Museum and more wineries. Jeffrey's for breakfast was amazing- best banana pancakes and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#9 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Property: Hillside Inn
Address: 2901 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95409-4020
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing