We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Oceanside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hotel is simply ok, nothing great. But I was very disappointed about the service. I was there for work so using wifi on my computer was very important for me. Their internet was soooo slow it was impossible to do anything. I called the front desk to ask the lady about the problem and she told me to call the internet company to fix the problem. Can you believe this? I'm sorry but I don't think it's the guests' responsibility to fix their internet problems. Anyway, she never apologized or did anything about it. I had two laptops and one iPod touch and on every connection the internet was sooooo incredibly slow so it was definitely not a hardware problem. I ended up moving to the Quality Inn just a short drive from there on the same avenue and what a difference; their free internet was super fast. Plus it was cheaper, cleaner, and more comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    274
    129
    49
    34
See reviews for
217
239
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

After having to change our Thanksgiving day travel plans due to weather, we ended up driving down the OR & CA 101. We ended up at the BW in Santa Rosa at midnight. The very nice clerk gave us a better than AAA discount. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom area which was nice for getting ready in the morning. It was close to fast food and quick dining establishments and easy on/off the 101. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dietcoke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We came down to Santa Rosa to go Trick-or-Trating for Halloween.

The hotel was very comfortable and the parking lot seemed very safe (which is very important to us). The rooms were very spacious and had big comfortable beds. The bathroom area was nice and big with full length mirrors, wich made getting our daughter ready alot easier. No bathtub in our room, but the shower was large and had good pressure with an adjustable head. The room also had a sliding glass door which let in lots of natural light. It opened up to their garden courtyard and one of the pool areas.

Honestly walking around the property made your forget you were right in the Santa Rosa business area. It was very peaceful and secluded.

We most definately will be back again! And any parents out there looking for a great place to come for halloween, come stay at the Garden Inn and be sure to hit up Mcdonald Ave and Jose Ramon Ave for some amazing decorations and safe holliday fun :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rselix10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We love this place for great location, comfortable rooms and beds, nice amenities and really good value. BUT its internet speed is terrible and you can't get sports channels other than the usual two ESPN channels. If you love the Bay Area Teams you will likely NOT get their games at this place. We were terribly disappointed last night to not get the Giants game. Same is true for Niners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MendoPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed here because we wanted to go to Sonoma, and this was a lot cheaper than staying there. Lovely large rooms, which are well equipped. Hotel has launderette, which is great when you have been traveling for weeks, which we had. Breakfast is not included, but there is a cafe on site, which has very good and reasonably priced food. If you eat out in town make sure you try the Puerto Rican restaurant, name escapes me, but food is superb.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Booked this hotel and then decided to cancel. Got my cancellation number and all looked fine. Then, checking my Credit Card statement, I see the charge is there. So, after calling Customer Service and finally getting a reply from the hotel itself - I find that I made 2 other reservations, WHAT? They gave me the numbers of the fake reservations and said because I didn't cancel them that I had to pay $250.00. WHAT?? So, thinking maybe I have started sleep internet, I checked my yahoo account for any confirmations to the new numbers that they gave me. NOTHING.... Best Western, I think you are pulling a runner here.

I bet I will never make another reservation with you - EVER. Kathleen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konakendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The BW Garden Inn was a basic motel on a busy street off the freeway. The rooms were basic, but nothing extra or memorable except for no continental breakfast. Most BW's have one these days. AAA book is wrong and they do not provide breakfast unless you pay for it. Denny's is across the busy street and a 1/2 block away, so for convenience sake you can visit the motel's small breakfast restaurant on the grounds. It has short basic menu.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,048 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,308 reviews
2.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
122 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
Best Western Plus Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing