We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stay here quite often. They have comfortable large rooms and two swimming pools. There is a small cafe on site that serves breakfast with great French Toast. We reaklly like this place and stay here every time we are in town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    259
    125
    46
    30
See reviews for
203
229
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

While attending a wedding, we stayed here on a glorious weekend in May of 2008. Really meant to write a review earlier. Like many others have said, it's not much to look at on the outside - a typical roadside Best Western Inn. The carport at the lobby had just been crashed into and looked hellish, but that wasn't their fault. Very attentive at the front desk; they provided detailed directions to local restaurants and the other hotels where friends were staying.

The rear sliding door opened onto the garden, which made for a very relaxed feeling. We opened the door and relaxed in the very clean and nicely-appointed room. Super comfortable bed, updated bathroom, fridge, microwave, etc. From our room near the rear of the property you couldn't hear the freeway. Our reverie was momentarily disturbed by some noisy lawnmowers as the gardeners did their thing. This was on an early Friday afternoon.

if you're in town for an event like a wedding or just want a nice place to hang-out while you're thinking of something else to do, this is a great place. I was genuinely surprised at how much I wanted to simply relax in the spacious room on a comfy chair and just zone-out. Parking was a little tough late at night, as it seems they have just enough spaces for the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

This is definitely a bargain motel: basic rooms, blah design, boring location. But it has the unexpected plus of the garden and swimming pool that our room looked out onto. Very relaxing spot and made our stay more enjoyable. While being right by all the freeways means there's nothing nearby but gas stations, it also means you're right by the freeways: Santa Rosa is a great jumping off point for visiting lots of wine regions. It's a good option to stay somewhere uninteresting and inexpensive with great access to lots of more interesting but more expensive places. The breakfast place attached to the motel was unexciting but convenient.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

After a long day of travelling, we booked the family suite - it was a delightful sight. We put the kids in the other room so they could watch their own tv while parents had some down time - didn't catch the breakfast in the garden room the next morning but heard that it's a great breakfast. Good place to stay - rooms are everything you can expect from a best western - very clean and decorated nicely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzly1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I chose this hotel because I've always had the best luck with the Best Western chain. When I made the online reservation I did request an upgrade (Best Western Rewards Member) and was given a king for the queen price. The room we had was very nice and not dated. The tile in the shower was a little dated, but was still very clean. The mattress was a little firm for my taste, but was not hard as a rock, which allowed for a good night sleep. There wasn't much noise aside from the occasional siren from ambulances or police cars, but that is life in the city. The food at the little cafe was great. Best breakfast and great prices! There was only one downside, the internet. It did not work well for either myself or my boyfriend. Overall it was a really great time and I plan to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuteCaliGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I am spoiled and we don't stay at BW but since we have limited options in Santa Rosa we thought we would try this one. The stay was good, it was very quite, and the hotel was virtually empty. The room was clean inside but very, very dated. I liked having the microwave and refigerator. Don't go by the picutres on BW website. I don't know where those rooms are but they aren't the ones that we were given. The comforter and blanket looked about 20 years old. The room was dark and the heater/cooler had no thermostat so you had to manually adjust the termperature. This made it tough in the middle of the night when the temperature dropped. It appears that the hotel has some nicer rooms and some older rooms and we got the older ones. The nice part was that it was single story so no one was above us. I agree with other folks that the breakfast cafe was cheap and good. It appears to be run by a family and they were very nice. I would recommend eating there if you want a basic breakfast meal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thankno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Meant to write this long ago, but hope it still applies. When I drove up to this hotel, I honestly wondered what my husband had gotten my daughters and I into as it is unremarkable from the outside. However, when I opened the door to our room, I couldn't believe how nice it was. It was like the Wizard of OZ movie, when Dorothy opens the door to the colorized beautiful world. Our room had recently been renovated with high end details such as beautiful textured wallpaper, a superior padded rug, etc. The cleanliness was as good as it gets. The staff was wonderful to deal with and we had a very nice breakfast in their restaurant. The food was good, inexpensive and the person serving us was very sweet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lithuanian_Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#7 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,282 reviews
2.4 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 25 in Santa Rosa
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
Best Western Plus Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing