We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem of a hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

Although my wife and I have stayed in Santa Rosa on vacation nine times in the last twelve years (son lives there), this was our first stay at the Garden Inn. Given its location on Santa Rosa Avenue I was a bit wary of booking it. What a mistake that would have been. This is a little gem of a Hotel. As stated previously the rooms are spacious and very clean. The grounds are very well kept and the little cafe serving breakfast is good value for money, the service was efficient given that only one server and Chef seemed to work there. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly and check-in / out speedy. Although the two pools are not large, the slightly larger of the two was in a secluded area allowing for some peace and tranquility.
Central to everything, anyone looking for reasonably priced accomodation that is above average should put this hotel on there short list. Better still try it, you will be pleasantly surprised just as I was.
Thank you all contributors whose reviews helped me decide to try this hotel.

Brian Pithie, Edinburgh, Scotland

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff and the pool area
  • Disliked — Trying to turn left onto Santa Rosa Avenue
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 020308name4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    252
    124
    43
    30
See reviews for
196
221
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

We considered the Best Western as an option after the great writeups we reviewed on Trip Advisor. Thank you! While I generally stay at more upscale properties, this was a pleasant surprise. Like the other reviews here - clean rooms, no complaints with the condition or age of anything in the room, and friendly helpful service. On future trips to the Sonoma area, we will look to book here first.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We booked this hotel based on recommendations from Trip Advisor and I'm very pleased with our choice. We had to stay in No. Cal. for a wedding, and with 2 very young children, needed a clean, yet economical choice.

We booked the 2 room family suite (you do have to call if you book this with a travel site and make sure you get the suite) and were hoping for the best. We called ahead to make sure there was a crib in the room, and there was when we checked in and it was very clean. The staff is great and very helpful. The fellow guests were also polite and there were no loud parties/etc. that could have kept our kids awake. A very pleasant surprise was a microwave and mini-fridge in the room.

As for location, very convenient to Hwy 12 and right off of 101. There are also stores (Costco, Target, etc.) about a 1/2 mile away, which was key for us because we usually forget something in our dash to leave the house.

We'd stay there again in a heartbeat and HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone who want a great value -- not a lot of frills, but an honest, clean value.

  • Liked — Clean large room
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krisc1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We were looking for a one night stay close to Calistoga Calif, on a spur of the moment trip On Labor Day Week-end. I started looking,everythings booked close to calistoga, so we started looking for lodging somewhere close to our destination. Mapquest said this property was 45 minutes to our destination.(which turned out to be about 20 minutes) So I checked The Trip Advisior Reviews for this property and the reviews are very true it was Great!! I was very leery about staying in a motorlodge as I have always stayed at 4 & 5 star Hotels and resorts. Much to my surprise this place was one of the best places we have stayed. The Rooms were huge, much more like a suite. The cleanliness was superb. Even the grounds and pool were immaculate, amenities were plentiful you could not have asked for more. And the beds were so comfy. It was very quiet (we did not hear any outside noise) so we were able to sleep in till 10:00. If were in the area again I would book this property in a heartbeat. I highly recommend this property!!!

  • Liked — Huge Room, Immaculately Clean, Amenities were all there, you couldn't ask for more
  • Disliked — everything was great!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 4meme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

This is the cleanest, quietest hotel I have stayed at in a long time. Cleanliness and quiet are my highest priorities when traveling. I don't need all the frills (marble, fitness centers, restraurants, etc), but cannot tolerate noise and filth. This is an older style hotel (drive your car up to the door), but extremely well maintained. The grounds were spotless as well as the rooms. There are 2 outdoor swimming pools with patio areas. Check in/out was fast. This hotel is also very reasonably priced when you consider other hotels in the area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsanbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

This is just a lovely little motel. It has a garden setting and a secluded feel, even though it's on a main thoroughfare. They have 2 pools (one heated, one not) and a small restaurant that serves made-to-order breakfast only. There are larger restaurants nearby, as well as shopping and grocery stores. Each room has a small refrigerator , microwave and coffee maker. We enjoyed our stay - it was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayakrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

If you need a reasonable place to stay in Santa Rosa, this is a great option at a very fair price! Very nice front desk staff, 10 minutes to the University of Sonoma, 1 mile from a nice downtown area with movie theaters, restaurants, etc. The rooms were large, very clean and I was pleasantly surprised. There is a little breakfast cafe on the premises that is quite good and also very reasonably priced. I gave it an average rating because it is an average hotel. If I were rating it within a category of average hotels, I would say it was excellent!

  • Liked — The cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Noting that I can think of for our purposes.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
3.7 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
5.6 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing