We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in the Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Have stayed here several times in the past. Courtyard is nothing special, but convenient and clean. This time, we were put off by a bit of front desk attitude. Rate seemed out of line, however it was late and we didn't feel like searching around. Although clean, the room was cramped, somewhat noisy, linens actually threadbare. As has been pointed out by others, breakfast is kind of pricey. We have stayed in most of the comparable properties in Santa Rosa, and will not return to this one; several others are much nicer, and better value.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Traveler12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 347 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

I have one night remaining in a seven night business trip, and I have very mixed feelings about this Courtyard. There are several strengths, but a few weaknesses have made my stay somewhat unpleasant.

Grounds: The parking and other outside areas are very clean and attractive. No fencing or security is provided to prevent access from the street, but that does not appear to be needed. The area around the hotel is nice and quiet, and several good restaurants are available within a one or two block walk.

Staff: The staff were always very friendly and helpful. Any interaction I had was pleasant and staff really went out of their way to be friendly.

Housekeeping: The housekeeping staff consistently did a fine job with my room. My room was cleaned every day and supplies were restocked promptly. The hallways, however, were a different matter. No matter what time of day, it was not uncommon to find bags of trash, full trash cans or empty glasses and bottles in the hall. Upon check-in, a business companion had three empty wine glasses in front of his door. Although the room was vacant and clean, it causes one to question how thorough the cleaning is.

Room: The room was typical Courtyard with a desk and two double beds. As is customary with Courtyard, the desk is placed immediately in front of the air conditioner, subjecting one to constant blowing air any time work is being done. Also, the bathroom is very small with a small since area outside the bathroom. Things were definitely cramped.

The biggest complaint I have about the room, however, is the noise. Thin walls and large gaps under the doors allow sound to travel very far; I always knew what television program was being watched in the adjoining room. Furthermore, it was often easy to hear even quiet conversations in the guestrooms from simply walking down the hall.

Business features: There is wireless internet access in the rooms. I never encountered difficulty, but two of my business companions were never able to consistently establish a network connection. There is one computer in the "business center" but it is virtually unusable for anything but printing boarding passes. The computer was very slow (10 seconds or more between clicking a button on a website and seeing a response) and it is not possible to access email attachments. As the USB ports are blocked, this pretty much eliminates using this computer for working on documents.

Other issues: There is breakfast available at the hotel, but you need to be fast or aggressive to find a table. The dining area is very small with only a few tables. You may take your meal to the lobby area, but when I have to pay for a meal in a hotel, I prefer to eat at a table rather than balancing things on my lap in the lobby.

At the government rate, the problems noted above are easily tolerated. If I had been paying full rate, however, I would have been very dissatisfied with my experience at this Courtyard.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DrDMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Great hotel for our needs. The hotel was in walking distance to a couple of restaurants and a few shops. You don't get the same feeling of actually staying in wine country, but it is located close to a lot of cute wine loving areas.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank BaltNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

This is a very nice Courtyard. Our rate included the breakfast buffet, which was substantial and a good value. The rooms were clean as was the entire hotel. The pool area, while small, is kept clean with pool towels provided. This Courtyard is in a prime location for exploring wine country.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoCaribfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Yes, the hotel is a chain but it is very clean, beds are comfortable and the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. This was also a really family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank revrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

This courtyard will not win any awards, but it does the job. We used points, so we avoided the fair $139 midweek rate. The room was reasonably sized, very clean and well cared for. The lobby has a breakfast place, but we went to a local diner instead.

The service was spot on, not a single complaint.

The hotel is about 15 mintues from Healdsburg Square, so not great if you want to eat and hang out late in town, but the location in north central Sonoma was a good spot for our tour of wine country.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We were very fortunate to land the Courtyard on our Priceline bid. The check-in process was very efficient and courteous. We found the front desk staff most helpful with driving directions and area maps, restaurant info, etc.

After 9 hours of driving, we were pleased to partake of the complimentary wine tasting in the Hotel Lobby, followed by a short walk to the Railroad square area restaurants. In the morning, we enjoyed walking the creekside trail to the Luther Burbank Gardens. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, nature areas, downtown business, parks, etc.

The Lobby is very inviting. We did not have time to enjoy the Pool and Jacuzzi, but it looked clean and well maintained. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a bit small, but very clean. The Shower / Tub combo has a great adjustable shower head and was supplied with assorted toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and our room was quiet. Wireless Internet connection was very fast and reliable. Plenty of room to do some work with ample desk space and a nice office chair. In room coffee amker is provided, but we were happy to partake of the excellent coffee and tea available in the lobby area.

We enjoyed our short stay at the Courtyard, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HappySurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
700 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#4 of 25 in Santa Rosa
458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 25 in Santa Rosa
1,339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santa Rosa

Address: 175 Railroad St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range: $188 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Marriott
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Courtyard Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing