We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fountaingrove Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vintners Inn(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$295
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Garden Inn(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$159
Sandman Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rose(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$242
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redwood Inn(Santa Rosa)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Bay Inn(Santa Rosa)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
186
258
92
38
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
258
92
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfountain groveequus restaurantwine countrythe hotel's restaurantbreakfast buffetkeurig coffee makerwine tastingwells fargo centerwould stay here againking roomsonoma countyeasy accesscomfy bedrooms are largethe room was nicechrismorano
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 591 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Comfortable, clean and quiet. We stayed in October 2013 to visit family and do Sanoma and Napa Valleys wineries. Nice resturant and bar but a bit pricy, which I would expect considering the location. Didn't have time to use the pool or fitness center. Our concierge Chris, was very helpful with locations and times of certain wineries. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. Eye pleasing Inn but is limited in property site, so don't expect a view. Not the typical looking Inn but is nice to see some originality for a change.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana4ElPaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love the very cool vibe of the place. Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Pretty property. Good customer service. Easy access to wine country. Two caveats: because of an odd design choice, many rooms have no view at all and instead face a vine-covered wall. Also, the hotel seems out of place amid all the suburban sprawl. Pick it up and move it to Petaluma!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stay was during October 2013. My wife and I really enjoy our California wine country trips, and like the Sonoma county area much more than the Napa county area. Santa Rosa seems to be a great central location, and has some decent hotels, motels and resorts. Fountaingrove Inn, as other places, has its pros and cons. Our room was a junior suite.

Pros:
1. Great location for easy access to Sonoma county wineries.
2. Polite staff.
3. Clean and very quiet rooms. The only noise you really get is from the outside, which is minimal. The door to the main hallway is solid wood (oak I believe), as is the door to the tub/commode room.
4. Very very comfortable beds.
5. Equus restaurant. We had a dinner there one evening, and it was very very good. Service was fast and polite. Had the breakfast buffet one morning. Good, but price was a bit on the high side (fortunately we were each given a complimentary breakfast due to some minor issues during check-in).
6. Complimentary wifi. However they ask you to not use too much bandwidth (i.e., no streaming videos, online gaming, and things like that).
7. Large granite-top bathroom vanity (separate from the tub/toilet room). They supply a lighted makeup mirror (my wife appreciated that), and a hair dryer.

Cons:
1. The hotel is built at the bottom of a hillside, located at a busy intersection. Don’t expect beautiful views from your room; you’ll either get a parking lot or a hillside with the typical long brown grass.
2. Several places I’ve stayed offer a small refrigerator and microwave oven. This place has a tiny refrigerator, but no microwave. Not a big deal, but a con nonetheless.
3. Not much drawer space to place unpacked clothes.
4. We stayed in building 2 (where the junior suites were located). There is no elevator in that building for getting luggage up and down, but if you drive up the hill to the rear door there is a curvy ramp you can wheel large suitcases down/up. A bit of an inconvenience. I would also like to say that it is even more of an inconvenience for handicapped guests. Although there are no marked parking spaces near that back door, I noticed a couple cars with handicapped permits parked up near there. A bit of a hill to negotiate for those guests.

Not really a con, but there were a couple spots where the carpet in our room was showing signs of wear.

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. However, I think Fountaingrove’s rates are a bit high for the ambiance you get. Not that this stay was bad; the beds are really comfy, and the rooms are ultra quiet. But, I’ve still had better stays at other hotels or resorts. I’d would like to extend my thanks to Fountaingrove Inn’s staff for a good stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLandDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We travel to or through Santa Rosa 3- 6 times a year and have found our new favorite hotel. The location is perfect for our shopping trips. We were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was being right off the freeway. Staff was gracious and helpful. Our server in the restaurant was absolute delightful and our dinner was very good. Yes, the view is not noteworthy, but that wasn't a priority for our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VizziZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I (in our 70s) stayed here on a business trip.. What a delight! We were so impressed with the meticulous maintenance of the 1980 structure. .. We were also impressed with the updating of the rooms. We stayed in a Jr suite in the upper north building. It had plenty of room.. two beds and a sitting area. But.. they need to add a mirror There was just one mirror over the bathroom sink.. not enough.
People need to understand that this place was built in the early 80's when land was cheap and technology was expensive hence the sprawl. There are no elevators, so if you can't deal with stairs you need to be on the first floor.
We ate at Equus. . We shared the lamb bits and crab cakes and a salad.. enough for us but not for a man..
Drinks were reasonable $6.00.. We don't do wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews