We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Terrible Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while visiting NAPA and SONOMA valleys wineries. Rooms are OK, if you like to look at a brick wall 3 feet away from your window. Maid kept throwing away my ear plugs every night, stayed in a lot of hotels, never happened before. What really upset me was the total disregard of the staff when we complained about the TV remote not working. First, Mr. Engineer wanted to come visit at 10:00PM, no thank you. Then I asked again and was told not to leave anything in front of the TV sensor. Da... My wife and I are both aerospace engineers.
So we fought with the remote the rest of our stay. All it needed is new batteries Mentioned it on check out. Who cares!
Other problem if you are staying there without a car. Nothing else to walk to eat, you are stuck with those people!
Go somewhere else, there's plenty around.

Room Tip: Second floor, then you will not see the brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    226
    86
    35
    16
See reviews for
97
228
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This appears to be a good place. Sprawling building, pool, restaurant etc. We found the king deluxe room to be small, and the rooms off either hallway from the lobby feel as if they are in a basement, as the windows fall below ground level. The drapes have to be kept closed at all times and it felt like a cave.

We lost internet access the first night, and went through a tiresome process with the front desk staff who did not appear to know the first thing a about internet access (one person said she had bars on her phone, so it should be working). The next morning, still no internet access, and after more useless steps to fix the problem, we had to ask to be moved to a different room that had a signal. The front desk manager should have offered this solution from the very beginning when it was clear the problem could not be fixed.

The breakfast room was not open at 7 am, and no sign posted to explain the delay. It turns out they locked themselves out of the kitchen the night before and could not get in. Really ridiculous, and a total inconvenience when you need to get breakfast before leaving to catch a flight.

Rooms are ok, if dated. The TV picture resolution is poor, and you could not find a more basic channel line up in a roadside motel.

Next time, we'll pass on this place for a better run facility with staff that is more pro-active in their communication, and service solutions.

Room Tip: If you book a king room, ask for one that has an extra armchair. Avoid the rooms that are on the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, some of the hallway carpets need replacing, the design of the car park means you can have a long walk to the rooms (and we found the spaces very narrow), and it's not very obvious how to get to reception. We had two rooms - the rooms on the first floor at the front of the building look out at a small narrow garden with a "view" of a 6foot fence, whilst those at the back look out on a steep ivy covered bank with the upper level of the car park at the top. The traffic noise meant we had to close the windows on the room at the front, whilst an annoying dripping noise from either the pool or a watering system meant we also had to close the windows in our room at the back (room 143).
That said, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, with good coffee machines and free WiFi. There was also good information in the rooms about Sonoma and the local wineries.
The restaurant was also good - the waiting staff were friendly and helpful, and we liked the rack of lamb, cobbler and mango bread pudding. Breakfast was also good, although was slightly more expensive and had less hot options than some of the other places we stayed during a 15 day road trip in California.
We chose the Fountaingrove because it was convenient for highway 101, a reasonably short drive from Napa, convenient for visiting the Russian River, Bodega Bay Area, and also only a short drive to San Francisco. It fulfilled all our requirements, and with a few tweaks could be almost perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here more than a week.
Friendly staff, lovely outdoor heated pool, very warm hottub, yummy restaurant, comfy beds, good wifi signal, a fridge on the room is always a +,...

Make sure that breakfast is including in the prize u pay, its quiet expensive, i ate better for cheaper.... Thats the only downside i can think of right now :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel_Rob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you can avoid it, do. The front desk service is slow and the rooms are outdated, but they have tried to update them the best that they could.

I arrived at 3pm from all the way across the county (east coast) and had bee up for close to 24 hours. I needed to freshen up and go to a place I was in town to consult with. I was told no rooms were clean because they had sold out the night before so they were getting a slow start to turning over the hotel. I changed clothes in a small lobby bathroom. When I returned around 6 I came in while a wine tour bus was unloading with several drunk individuals. I had to wIt close to 30 minutes then to check in.

I reserved a king room, but was given a double room. All of the windows were street level and the shades did not close all the way, so I couldn't block out the light. The tv didn't work. That group of drunk wine seekers I mentioned....right next to me. Lucky me. I will not be returning. If you are looking for a ice quite night, not here. If you're looking for amenities, not here. It was a one night and done stop for me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBM7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located with easy access to Highway 101. We stayed 2 nights and our room was located in the building with the convention center. It was great the first night, but not so great the 2nd night with the noise from the banquet attendees standing around drinking and smoking. The management puts a note in your room "advising" you that a function is taking place that night and they "hope" it will not disturb you. I recommend you ask what might be going on before you let them put you in that building.
The WIFI is free and works very well. You will find tons of restaurants in the area ranging from fast food to 5 star.
Aside from our room location we found the room to be clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrival 2/5 - we stopped at the Tourist Information to ask about rooms for the night. We wanted somewhere quality with an outdoor pool. The helpful lady phoned a few places and got rates for us. The Fountaingrove fitted the bill. The hotel is not well signed from the road. We drove straight past it a few times. It is on the corner of Mendochino Ave and Fountain Grove. It's there as you turn into Fountain Grove. Blink and you'll miss the entrance!! From the car park there are no signs for reception. Check in was fast and friendly. You can drive to the upper car park if your room is on that level. Again there are no signs to direct you. there is a door to the room, but no signs. One of the worst signed hotels I've ever stayed at. Rather strange.

Room 4/5 - a good size room with king bed, large comfy chair, fridge, board/iron, plenty of storage space. Good quality linen and pillows. Very comfy bed - we slept well.

Bathroom 4/5 - a good size with full size bath and shower above. Separate outside sink with coffee machine and hair dryer.

Location 3/5 - a short drive to downtown Santa Rosa.

Other 3/5 - there is a nice, though small pool with a seating area. The gym looked ok. There is a restaurant. Free wifi. The hallway carpets looked dirty and in need of a good clean.

Value 3/5 - we paid $204 including tax. On the high side.

Overall 3/5 - nice room, pleasant staff, but awful signs and dirty carpets mark it down. Easy to sort out with a bit of thought.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel
#3 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#6 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sonoma County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#5 of 25 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#10 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Property: Fountaingrove Inn
Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1777
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing